Heading to Graduation

I graduate in 9 days. Although these circumstances are new and exciting, I’m still experiencing the familiar end-of-fall-semester blues. There’s nothing I want more than to be at home, planning Christmas menus, baking cookies and basking in the spirit of the season.

The next 10 days are filled with lots of busy days. I’ve got four stories due, one paper due, one presentation, four exams and lots of packing to do. But I’m feeling good in the home stretch. I am simultaneously stressed and at peace. I know graduation will come and I will have fulfilled all of my obligations and then I will be FREE!

And it’s the freedom of the weeks after graduation that I am most looking forward to. I have some things in the works as far as employment, but nothing will be decided until at least mid-January. That gives me a lot of time to relax during the holidays and the time after.

So, in 10 days, I will set my sights on a new to-do list, filled with things that bring calm, joy and happiness.

To-do:

  • Bake cookies to share with family and friends.
  • Cook without time constraints.
  • Read the many books on my list.
  • Start running regularly again.
  • Go to the movies.
  • Celebrate Christmas and New Year’s
  • Spend time with friends.
  • Visit my grandma and play games.
  • Travel! (I have a few short trips planned.)
  • Hang out with my cat, Coco.

I am so lucky to graduate from college with a degree from the best journalism school in the country, which just happens to be in my state. I am lucky to have a family who loves me and friends I am so excited to see over the holidays. I am lucky to have a place to land after graduation while I find my footing in this big, scary world.

So here goes nothing! 9 days until graduation.

One thought on “Heading to Graduation

Leave a Reply

