Locked Out

Yesterday I had quite the adventure, although not the kind of one you actively seek out: I was locked out of my apartment for 7 hours! But let’s rewind allllll the way back to yesterday morning…

I woke up at 7 like usual, and had a simple breakfast that I’ve been loving recently:

breakfast2Scrambled eggs!

eggsAnd a strawberry, mango, peach smoothie with orange juice and almond milk. So good!

smoothieI think this is my favorite smoothie combination.

breakfast1After breakfast, I had class and then came home and vegged for a while. I watched some TV and made lunch, which was really just leftovers from Wednesday:

lunch3Noodles with peanut sauce, cabbage and peppers. Pretty good, although I wish I had made more sauce!

lunch1This was a good lunch mostly because all I had to do was heat it up…yes, it was one of those days.

lunch2After another hour of doing nothing, I finally shut my computer and packed up my books and headed to campus for a homework session. And then I did the horrible thing that would ruin my afternoon: I left my key on the table and shut the door.

A little background: The apartment I’m staying in is a 3-bedroom and each tenant has their own lease. In order to sublease, you are supposed to pay a $150 fee so the complex has the new tenants information. I am subletting from one of Allen’s two roommates this summer and we decided NOT to pay the fee, which means I’m not officially listed as a tenant.

Also, the doors at this complex use key cards and lock behind you, so once the door is shut, you’re locked out.

On a regular weekday, this wouldn’t be an issue, but today was different because Allen was out of town at an all-day work event at the Lake of the Ozarks and wouldn’t be getting home until between 7-8 p.m. So at 2:30 p.m. when I locked myself out, I knew I had a long night ahead of me.

Things I had with me when I locked myself out: my car keys, my wallet, my chemistry homework and my phone. I didn’t have my laptop or my camera (no pictures of dinner!), but things could have been much worse.

So I ended up driving to campus and doing homework until 5 p.m. I wanted to watch baseball at 7, so I texted my chemistry lab partner and asked if he wanted to get dinner and watch the game since I knew he was a Cardinals fan.

We ended up going to dinner at Flat Branch, which is one of my favorite restaurants in Columbia, which raised my spirits quite a bit! Then I hung out at the fraternity house he is “house sitting” over the summer, which was another adventure. Luckily in the summer things are clean and the place didn’t smell so much like a frat house. He was really nice to let me stay there while I was stranded! Thanks Myles!

I ended up stranded an hour longer than I expected because Allen’s work was delayed getting back. They took shuttle buses and they had a bit of trouble herding everyone back onto the buses and getting them dropped off in a timely fashion. Allen got back around 9 p.m. to let me in and I was SO happy.

So what did I learn from all of this? ALWAYS check your key card, especially when your only way into the apartment is 7 hours away from coming home. If I had been taking out the trash, for instance, things could have been much more difficult, especially if I didn’t have my phone (I don’t know anyone’s number!) All in all, it was a very stressful afternoon and evening that I would not like to repeat.

2 thoughts on “Locked Out

Leave a Reply

