What I’m Training For: July-August 2013

The next few months for me are going to be very busy! I’m finishing up my summer class and then heading on a long-weekend trip to Montana to visit Hannah! After that, I’m moving out of my apartment, back home, and then back to school into my new residence hall. Then I have a week in intense training and a week of fall welcome activities.

Luckily, there are no races on my horizon, and I can take a more relaxed approach to exercise!

After my race on the 4th of July, I’ve decided I really need to take a break. I’ve been lacking energy and motivation to run recently, so I’ve taken a week off. I haven’t run since last Thursday, and will probably run tomorrow if I’m feeling good.

I haven’t felt the need to get a certain number of workouts in per week, and I know once the school year starts I’ll be able to get a good feel for how running will fit better into my schedule. Honestly, this crazy time of the year has come at a really good time for me, because the next race I’m looking at is a 15K (PDR for me!) in December. I wouldn’t have to start training until October, which gives me plenty of time to build back a running base as well as continue to strength train.

I also want to spend more time at the pool this fall, incorporating some good cross-training!

It’s hard to take a break sometimes, but I know doing this will make it easier for me to handle the craziness that’s coming soon. Although it’s always an option for me to go for a run when things start to feel overwhelming. And I can’t wait to get back into the swing of things!

Leave a Reply

