Seeking an Energy Boost

Man, today was QUITE the Monday…the day after a long weekend is the hardest for sure.

First things first: Happy birthday to my dad!

dadHe’s a pretty cool dad, I’d say.

dad

I was up at 7 as usual and had a cup of Lemon Zinger before making breakfast:

breakfast1Today was a toast and yogurt kind of morning:

toastI had plain yogurt with blueberries and a little bit of maple syrup.

blueberriesIced coffee because it’s JULY:

coffee

breakfast2I showered and got ready for the day, but instead of class I went to the dermatologist. I had to go during class because it was the only opening they had for weeks! Yikes! Things went well and the nurse practitioner I saw was really nice.

I headed back to campus and did some work for lab while I nibbled on my lunch. I wasn’t that hungry, but I ate the salad and PBJ I had packed.

Lab was boring and draining…I’ve been very low on energy these past few weeks and I’m just not sure why! I got home and made some snacks to hopefully boost my energy:

smoothieThis smoothie was delicious! It was frozen mango, peach, strawberries, orange juice and almond milk. It was the perfect combination of creamy and tart!

I also made some popcorn on the stove, which is my new favorite way to make it:

popcornI popped it in some oil and then tossed it with butter, salt and nutritional yeast. I’m not sure if my fatigue has to do with any kind of vitamin deficiency, but I’m going to try to eat more protein, B-vitamins and iron to see if things get better. Nutritional yeast is a great way to do that AND it’s delicious on popcorn. Tastes just like cheese! I gobbled it all up.

After my snack I took a nap and woke up super groggy. I got up and ran some errands and then came home and made some dinner:

pasta2I made “Charred Scallion Pesto Pasta” from Rachael Ray tonight. I added some nutritional yeast to the pesto to bulk it up a bit. It was really tasty!

pasta1I just love pesto.

Tonight is yet another Monday that the Cardinals aren’t playing, so we’re going to watch Under the Dome. Hopefully I’ll get a good night’s sleep–I need it!

Leave a Reply

