Back Out There

I can’t believe it’s already Sunday! Luckily I’m not dreading a full week of classes because the 4th of July is on Thursday! And that means no lab on Wednesday!

I slept in again this morning, and when I woke up, I turned on the rice cooker to make breakfast!

pudding1I made rice pudding! It was super simple: cooked white rice, soy milk, maple syrup, golden raisins,  and pumpkin pie spice. I soaked it overnight and popped it into the rice cooker this morning. In 20ish minutes, it was thick and creamy and warm!

breakfast2Quite the comforting breakfast:

pudding2Served with coffee and grapes!

breakfast1After breakfast, I lounged around a bit. I did a yoga class from Yoga Download and watched some TV. I also cooked beans for the week: black beans and chickpeas. Lunch was another rice cooker special:

lunch2I made a millet salad with arugula and tomato:

millet1I cooked the millet in the rice cooker and then stirred in the rest of my farmers’ market arugula, chopped tomato and basil. I finished it with plenty of parmesan cheese that made it super creamy!

Served with some tasty watermelon:

watermelon

lunch1After lunch, I watched the Cardinals game (we lost! Boo.) and then I went for a late-afternoon run.

Sometimes, you have a good workout and it gives you a BIG confidence boost. Today was one of those days! I did 5×400 repeats under 2:00 minutes each, with 400 meters of recovery in between.

Screen Shot 2013-06-30 at 8.39.36 PMI did a really good job keeping my repeats at a consistant pace! It really felt like I was in control of this workout. It was HARD, but I was in charge and dominated it.

Screen Shot 2013-06-30 at 8.39.59 PM3 miles down. I’m ready to kick some butt on Thursday’s 5K!

After my run, I threw dinner together. Have you ever heard of salt-and-vinegar chickpeas?

salad1They were the topping for this “Dinosaur Dill Crunch Salad” from Oh She Glows. They were SO TASTY. I plan to make them again and snack on them.

salad2The salad had kale, cucumber and red onion tossed with a dill-tahini dressing. It was light but bold with flavor!

I’m going to get ready to take on the week. It’s a short one. Can’t wait for the long weekend!

Leave a Reply

