Lately: Wave Riders, Wait Wait and Warm Weather Eats

Hello! Sorry for my recent hiatus, but I’m here to catch you up on everything you missed.

When we last talked, it was Wednesday night…

…and Wendy Davis was on the floor of the Texas state Senate, fighting for women’s reproductive rights AND wearing the greatest pair of running shoes ever:

NM_25filibusterBYes, that’s right, the Mizuno Wave Rider 16. It just so happens that I’ve been wearing the Waverider since my sophomore year of high school and rocking THAT VERY COLOR since February…

me1Yeah! So cool! Now when I wear my running shoes, they’re not only the best pair of running shoes ever; they represent an awesome woman fighting for other women. How great is that?

Thursday morning I had my second chemistry exam. I did well! It was a bit trickier than the last test, but I got the grade I expected and wanted, so I’m happy. I had a BIG breakfast beforehand:

breakfast1Eggs and berries…such a summer meal:

eggsI went home Thursday night to spend the evening with my family at the live taping of NPR’s “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me!”

If you’ve never heard of “Wait Wait” before, it’s a comedic news quiz that airs on Saturday mornings. They usually tape it (live!) in Chicago, but sometimes they travel, so we got tickets for my dad for Father’s Day and made a night of it.

We had dinner at home: this Rachael Ray Grilled Corn and Black Bean Salad:

beans2It was SO GOOD. I’m finally hitting my summer stride and craving all things cold and salad-y. This hit the spot!

beans1The show was SO GOOD. It was hilarious and smart and creative. Basically everything I expected from Wait Wait. Our show aired TODAY, but you can listen to the whole thing on NPR’s website! Be sure to listen closely for my laughter.

Friday morning I had a doctor’s appointment and headed back to Columbia. Then this morning Allen and I went to the Farmer’s Market. I got kale, arugula, mint and green beans, and Allen got some peach-apricot jam that I hope to try tomorrow morning…

For lunch we got bagels and coffee!

bagels1I got chocolate chip with peanut butter and everything with salmon spread.

bagels2My afternoon consisted of a short run, a great Cardinals win and a trip to the grocery store. This week is all about summer eats, and it started with dinner tonight…

dinner1Barbecue baked tempeh:

tempehThe flavors of barbecue sauce just remind me of summer!

And THIS amazing arugula (locally grown!), watermelon and feta salad:

salad1I have so much watermelon in the fridge right now, so I’ll be eating it all week. Somehow, I don’t really mind…

Happy summer!

Leave a Reply

