Summery Surprises

Another week begins! This week is a test week, so we’re mostly doing review in class today. Unfortunately I find this unit more difficult than last unit, which means I’ll need to study harder for Thursday’s exam.

I was up at 7 this morning and got out of bed pretty easily. Breakfast was one of my favorites:

breakfast2Oh fruit and yogurt bowl, how I’ve missed you.

yogurtI love tangy yogurt mixed with sweet fruit and crunchy cereal. It’s the best combination of flavors and textures.

fruit

 

breakfast1Class was at 9:50 and then I printed out and completed the pre-lab assignment for this afternoon’s lab. It was really easy but it was actually for a lab we’re not going to do! Today we went on a tour of the Columbia Wastewater Treatment Plant for lab. We didn’t have to be there until 1, so I had time to come home for lunch:

lunch2I had packed my lunch in my bento box in case I decided to stay on campus and do some work. I made this quinoa and veggie salad last night so I’d have it ready for lunch this morning.

quinoaIt had quinoa, onions, mushrooms, carrots, peas and a miso dressing.

I also cut up some carrots and celery for dipping:

veggiesI had both hummus and pimento cheese!

dipsAnd some berries for dessert. The perfect lunch!

lunch1My afternoon was…smelly. The tour at the wastewater plant was exactly as expected: it smelled like waste. But the guy giving the tour was very knowledgeable about the process and it was kind of neat to learn about how they keep the water from harming the environment.

I came home after the tour and just sort of vegged out for the rest of the afternoon. I took a shower and put together my study guide for the exam that I’ll start to tackle tomorrow.

Eventually, Allen came home. I had asked him to stop at the grocery store to pick up some bread (and the inevitable other items I had forgotten I needed for dinner tonight) and he surprised me with THESE:

flowersAre they gorgeous or WHAT? Definitely perked up my Monday!

Speaking of perking things up, this dinner did a pretty good job:

dinner2I’ve always been into bruschetta. The flavors are just perfect: sweet and tangy tomato, fresh basil, the bite from plenty of garlic, sweet and sour balsamic vinegar and rich olive oil. My, oh, my, the perfect summer meal.

I made a warm bruschetta today and I bulked it up with leftover white beans. I heated the white beans in the olive oil and then added the tomatoes and cooked them for another few minutes. Then I added the garlic and basil and turned the heat down to low while I worked on the toasts.

bruschetta

Sliced bread in the oven under the broiler until they were golden brown:

toastI rubbed the toasted bread with a clove of garlic and then topped them with mozzarella cheese:

cheeseAnd melted:

cheeseyI topped the toasts with the bruschetta and drizzled them with some balsamic vinegar that I cooked down on the stove top.

dinner3These were warm, but not hot, and fresh but still hearty.

bruschetta2Basically everything I wanted for dinner tonight.

dinner1Tonight there is no baseball game, so we’re going to watch this CBS special series, “Under the Dome.” I’m not sure if I’m going to like it, but it’s gotten really great reviews, so I want to check it out. Hopefully it’ll be good!

3 thoughts on “Summery Surprises

  1. This is the first post I’ve read since I left for Peru. Man your food looks awesome! Makes me want to cook. I think your food photography has gotten even better since I left, the pictures look awesome! Great job with this blog!

      • We should talk photography sometime! I always like learning more about it so that when I travel I am able to better capture my memories. I’ve learned quite a bit about wildlife photography from Ian, maybe I can learn more about food from you!

Leave a Reply

