Pineapple and Banana Pancakes

It’s a rainy Sunday afternoon, and I’m still dreaming about my relaxing morning. Well, relaxing, in a sense, because I started my morning with a long run!

I was up at 6 a.m. and filled up with a bowl of cereal:

breakfast1I bought a box of vanilla Chex cereal at the store yesterday and I am in LOVE. They are sweet and pair perfectly with fresh berries:

cerealI used unsweetened almond milk with this bowl and it was delicious. I also had some coffee to help me on my run:

coffeeI left at 7 for my run because I wanted to take advantage of the cooler temperatures in the morning. They did not disappoint! I’ve been running between 9 and 11 this week and I’ve had to drink SO MUCH water. There was a definite difference in my thirst.

7 miles on the books!

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 3.26.12 PMMy splits were not even today, so that’s definitely something I’d like to work on. I wanted to run around 9:50 miles, which I technically averaged out to, but the way I got there is certainly not even!

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 3.26.22 PMAfter my run, I came home and took an ice bath! My legs needed it. Then I got into the kitchen to make my second breakfast: pancakes!

brunch2I was inspired by the pineapple pancakes from The Original Pancake House, so I created these tropical treats. They were super simple.

Pineapple and Banana Pancakes

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • Pancake mix of your choice (I use Trader Joe’s multigrain mix)
  • Oil, milk and eggs as directed on the packaged mix
  • 8 oz. crushed pineapple (2 4-oz. cans)
  • 2 ripe bananas

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.

2. Start by mixing your pancake mix as directed on the package. Most package recipes make 4 servings, but check to be sure and adjust the amounts accordingly.

baking mix2. Mash the bananas in a bowl with a fork. Drain the pineapple, mix together with the banana and pour the fruit mixture into the batter.

batter3. Cook the pancakes on medium heat in an oiled pan or griddle. We only have small pans, so we can only make one pancake at a time, but if you have a bigger surface feel free to make multiple pancakes at once. Pour 1/2 cup of batter into the pan and flip when the bottom is golden brown and there are bubbles on the top of the pancake.

4. When the pancakes are finished cooking, place onto the baking sheet and store in the oven to keep warm.

5. Serve warm with or without syrup!

pancakes1This recipe works especially well with whole wheat pancakes because the fruit really makes the batter moist. These were much better than the last pancakes I made from this mix.

pancakes2So much fruit!

pancakes3

 

brunch1I hope you enjoy these pancakes on your next perfect Sunday.

Leave a Reply

