Time to Reset

Another week comes to a close, and I am ready for it. I need a bit of a head-clearing, because I did not get much accomplished this week. 

BUT today, I did have a good run, so I’m going to take that as a victory and head into tomorrow ready to conquer the weekend. 

I was up at 7 for some breakfast:

toastJust toast with jam as a nice pre-run boost. I also had a cup of coffee. 

I let this sit for a while, and finally got to the trail around 9:30. When I got there, despite the heat and sunshine, it started to rain! I ran my first mile in the rain, which was fine, but then the rest of my run was SO HUMID. It was bad. 

My run today was 800m intervals. I warmed up with an 800 and then ran an 800 hard (I was shooting for between 3:30-3:45), and alternated between them. I took a water break after two miles and then ran another hard interval before a one mile cool down. 

Screen Shot 2013-06-21 at 8.13.22 PMI did pretty well during my hard 800s, and ran mostly in my goal range. 

Screen Shot 2013-06-21 at 8.11.26 PMAfter my run, I was drenched, from the rain and from sweat. I drank a lot of water and Gatorade. I took a quick shower and then had some lunch.

lunch2Hello, leftovers. Avocado pasta:

spaghettiPotato salad:

tatersAnd minty chickpea salad:

chickpeas

 

lunch1After lunch, I wasted a lot of time doing pretty much nothing. I finally got myself to the library around 2, and finished a chapter of bookwork problems, and then got off track again. I DID do my meal plan for next week, so that’s something. 

Part of my meal plan included my craving for tonight’s dinner: pimento cheese spread! 

dinner1In case you don’t know, pimento cheese spread is a mixture of shredded cheddar cheese, mayo and pimentos. Sometimes you add sugar (I did!) and other things, but those are the basics. There’s a lot of debate about the best cheese to use (real cheddar vs. Velveeta) and which brand of mayo to use. 

sandwichAlthough I grew up with Velveeta pimento cheese, I made mine with a block of extra sharp cheddar, shredded in the food processor. I used a mixture of Helman’s (we had a jar to finish up in the fridge) and Miracle Whip, pimentos and sugar, plus a little smoked paprika and cayenne pepper for fun. 

On the side I kept things simple with some carrot sticks and hummus for dipping.

hummus

 

carrotsAnd I also had a smoothie! I’ve got some bananas to use up, so I made a banana, mango and orange smoothie with vanilla soy milk. 

smoothie

 

dinner2Tonight we are watching baseball and then I’ll probably get to sleep. I’m pretty tired, plus I’m hoping to get a really good day of work done tomorrow. I am determined to be productive!

One thought on “Time to Reset

Leave a Reply

