Tired and Hungry

Better late than never! This post is from yesterday’s eats, which were pretty darn tasty.

I was up early to get my run in before class. I have trouble pulling myself out of bed at 6 a.m., and I didn’t get out the door until close to 6:30. Blah.

My run went pretty well though. I got 3 miles in at a 9:40 pace:

Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 11.29.12 AMMy splits improved each mile after a slow start…I need a bit of a warm-up when I run first-thing.

Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 11.29.20 AMAfter my run, I made myself a BIG breakfast:
breakfast1It was one of those mornings when everything sounded good, so I made everything!

Scrambled eggs and toast with peach-raspberry jam from the farmer’s market:

eggsAnd a delicious mango-peach smoothie with fresh mint!

smoothieJust looking at this photo again makes me want to make another one of these babies ASAP. It had yogurt, soy milk, frozen mango and peaches and plenty of mint. So good!

Coffee to drink:

coffeeI ended up bringing most of my smoothie along with me to class because I didn’t have time to finish it. I was running late and made it to class later than usual.

No lab on Tuesdays, so after class I went to Staples to get some refills for my Pilot G2s and some new Magic Rub erasers (the BEST erasers!). Then I headed back home for lunch:

pasta1Leftover pasta! Still yummy.

pasta2But it did NOT fill me up. I was really tired though (I think my allergies were acting up), so I took a nap and then had a snack:

snackGreen tea, gapes and chocolate covered almonds: the perfect study snack! I got all of my lab work  and some of the homework done, and then called it a day. I relaxed a bit before meeting Allen for a short hike!

We walked up some rocks at a nearby park and also took a short walk down the trail. There were some really great views:

view

 

rocksIt was also a really nice temperature. There were a lot of bugs though!

usWhen we got home for dinner I was STARVING. I had a tempeh and rice bowl planned:

dinner1I made the “New-Wave Baked Tempeh” recipe from the Bean by Bean cookbook.

tempehAnd I made some miso brown rice in the rice cooker. Topped with some sauteed broccoli with garlic. Yum!

broccoliAfter dinner, I was lacking much energy, and watched the Cardinals lose and then got to bed. I watched the end of the NBA finals game before calling it a night.

Leave a Reply

