Beating the Heat

The temperature is rising, and that means one thing: early morning running. Today I woke up at 6 a.m. to get my run in before the heat set in. The forecast said it was going to get above 90 degrees for the first time this year!

I had 3 miles on the agenda today and I left around 6:25. I ran down the hill to the trail, which made mile 1 very nice and mile 3 not so fun.

Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 7.23.32 PMRunning in the morning is rough. I was sleepy and my legs were heavy. Hopefully the more I workout in the mornings, the more I’ll get used to it. My splits were a little bit slower each mile but I got it done:

Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 7.22.31 PMAfter my run, I stretched and had breakfast. I just threw together a quick yogurt bowl:

breakfast2Strawberries:

strawberriesAnd a mix of Multigrain Cheerios and Kashi 7-Grain Cereal:

yogurtHot coffee to warm me up after I cooled down indoors:

coffee

 

breakfast1I was showered and ready to go a little before 9 a.m., when I headed up to school. I had about 30 minutes to get some work done before class. We have our first test on Thursday so I put together a study guide to help me prepare.

After class, I headed back to the apartment for lunch. I made a time-intensive lunch because I was craving this salad!

salad1Sweet potato and black bean salad. So good! It’s the dressing: honey-cilantro vinaigrette that I could basically drink.

salad2After lunch, I dragged myself together and went to the bank to get a credit card! They have to mail it so I won’t get it for a week or two. Then I went BACK to campus and studied at the library for about an hour and a half before I called it a day. I was really feeling my early morning, so I took a nap when I got home.

Dinner tonight was tremendous. Seriously. Another Bean by Bean recipe: tofu salad with basil dressing. And Oh She Glows Carrot Apple Ginger soup.

dinner2

I prepared the tofu by marinating it during the afternoon and then baking it for about 30 minutes, turning it once. When it was cooled, I mixed the tofu with chopped celery, pre-cooked green beans, sliced cherry tomatoes and the basil dressing (which was mayo-based and delicious).

tofu1This was seriously good. Luckily there is plenty leftover for lunches and dinners.

tofu2The soup was really good too! And there is plenty of it leftover as well.

soupI didn’t eat this whole bowl. It was too much!

dinner2Tonight we are watching the Cardinals and relaxing. I’m really happy they are on the East Coast because it means the games start an hour earlier and I can get plenty of sleep for my early-morning workouts this week.

Now, I think I’ll make myself some tea and find a bit of dark chocolate to nibble on…

Leave a Reply

