Sunday, Come and Gone

I’m back in Columbia again! I’ll be heading back to St. Louis on Thursday for a doctor’s appointment, but I will only be staying overnight again.

This morning I was up EARLY because I needed to do the workout I put off yesterday. I got out of bed at 6:50 and was in the basement doing weights at 7:05. Not too bad.

After weights, I did a two mile run to help with recovery (I feel SO much better when I do weights if I run afterward.) and ran at 9:46 miles. Not too bad!

Today was a fun morning…French Open men’s finals! In honor of that (and mostly because I wanted them) we had donuts!

breakfast1But of course I didn’t just eat donuts…scrambled eggs with cheese:

eggsAnd a sliced orange:

orangeAnd a delicious cinnamon-sugar cake donut:

donutAs always this summer, iced coffee:

breakfast2The French Open was over quickly, and Nadal won handily. It’s exciting watching tennis history be made!

I headed back to Columbia around 11 a.m. I had to drive through a bit of rain, which slowed things down, but I was back around 12:45 so not too bad. Lunch was up first, as I was starving:

lunch1Smoked trout salad!

salad1Carrot, red bell pepper, corn cut off the cob and green onion mixed with the fish, mayo and dijon mustard. Tasty!

salad2Best served with crackers:

crackersAfter lunch, I took a nice nap on the couch with “Love It or List It” in the background…the perfect Sunday afternoon.

Allen and I also made granola bars for the week! We tried a different recipe this week and it was SO much better. Some changes we made: brown sugar instead of white sugar, extra honey instead of corn syrup, and for our flavorings: 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, 1 cup chocolate chips, 1/4 cup almonds and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds.

The results were INCREDIBLE. So much better than last week. Can’t wait to bring these along as snacks during the week.

I also made dinner from scratch…homemade refried beans and rice cooker Mexican rice. HOLY COW my belly is happy on rice and beans.

dinner1The refried beans were pretty simple and probably took a little over an hour to make. Not too bad considering most of the time the beans are just simmering.

beansBut the star of the show was this rice:

rice1 cup of long-grain white rice, 2 1/4 cups vegetable broth, 1/3 of a can of crushed tomatos with chilies, garlic and onion (so much FLAVOR) and 1.5 tbsp. of butter. Into the rice cooker on the normal white rice setting and it was done in 30 minutes and PERFECT. Luckily this made about 4 servings so I have plenty of leftovers 🙂

dinner2Topped with cilantro and eaten with a smile.

Extra innings tonight! Dessert! 1.5 frozen bananas:

bananasInto the food processor:

food processorProcessed (and scrapped down periodically) until smooth.

softserve1Banana soft-serve, ladies and gentlemen:

softserve2With plenty of toppings:

toppingsSweetened coconut and chocolate syrup. Yum!

Tonight we are watching Food Network Star and baseball and basketball. Good TV night! Tomorrow the week starts all over again :O

One thought on “Sunday, Come and Gone

  1. Pingback: A Love-Letter to Legumes: ‘Bean by Bean’ Review | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

