Friday in a Flash

Friday has come so quickly here! I can’t believe it. I guess I’m having a pretty good time despite the fact that I’m taking a class.

Back up to this morning. I was up at 7 a.m. for a pre-run breakfast. I decided to eat something a little more substantial to see how my stomach did:

breakfast1I used to eat peanut butter toast before a long run, but I found it seemed like too much food without much digestion time. Today I went back to it because my long runs have been increasingly difficult: I have less energy to finish them.

toastApplesauce on the side:

applesauceAnd another round of cold-brewed iced coffee:

coffeeYum!

breakfast2I ate 1.5 slices of the toast and all of my applesauce. I was ready to go at 9 a.m. but delayed my run a bit to follow the Nadal-Djokovic French Open match. I left after the 4th set and drove to the trail…

I had 6 miles on the agenda today, so I did 2 miles out and back and stopped at my car to refill my fuel belt. I checked my phone and saw the match was still going on! I couldn’t bear to miss it, so I gave up on my last two miles and headed back to watch the end of it.

What an incredible match! My favorite tennis player is Roger Federer, but I always cheer for Nadal second. He’s just so dominate on clay and I love seeing one of the best players in history in action.

After the match, I took a shower and then made a quick lunch–I was starving!

lunch1A nice summer leftovers salad:

salad1I used 1/3 cup of chickpeas, fresh corn cut off the cob (I bought the corn for another salad recipe I didn’t end up making), strawberries, red onions and a simple lemon vinaigrette:

salad2This salad was FRESH.

lunch2I supplemented this salad with the last granola bar of the week. I piddled around a little bit longer and then headed to campus to do some studying.

I went to my chemistry professor’s office hours for a little bit and then hunkered down in the library. My view:

libraryA little creepy back here when you hear footsteps, but it does the job. I got a lot of work done!

I snuck in a snack of hummus and peppers:

snackI studied for about 2 hours and then called it a day. I did some laundry and some grocery shopping to round out my afternoon.

Dinner tonight was another attempt to use up my extra produce for the week:

dinner1I made some tomato and cheddar toasts:

sandwichI toasted two slices of bread and rubbed them with a clove of garlic while they were hot. Each slice got two thick tomato slices and some sharp white cheddar:

cheeseI also split a banana-strawberry-orange smoothie with Allen, utilizing an almost-overripe banana:

smoothie

dinner2Tonight we are watching baseball and then I’m heading to sleep. Tomorrow I’m going home for a party and to see Hannah! I’ll be staying overnight and back in Columbia on Sunday afternoon.

Leave a Reply

