Late Night and Leftovers

Apparently it’s National Running Day, so I’ll just take a second to tell you that running is awesome and I’ve already written a post about how awesome it is and why I run here. So check it out and lace up your shoes and get yourself out there!

My day started with a 7 a.m. wake-up call after a late night. I stayed up to watch 14 innings of baseball! It wasn’t even worth it because the Cardinals lost. But it was after midnight when it ended, so I didn’t get my usual 8 hours.

Luckily I had a pretty easy breakfast planned:

breakfast1Green smoothie made with banana, spinach, homemade almond milk, plain yogurt and chia seeds. I regretted the chia seeds…they really messed with the texture instead of enhancing it.

smoothieToast on the side:

toastAnd iced coffee, cold-brewed for the first time! I used this recipe from the Huffington Post and I think it worked really well, but was probably a bit strong for me.

In the French press:

coffee1And with milk and sugar over ice:

coffee2I watered it down a bit, but next time I probably will just use less coffee grounds in the mix.

breakfast2I headed to school earlier than usual today because I needed to print some stuff out and I wanted to get a little work done. I left about 15 minutes later than planned but still finished all of my work as planned!

I had class in the morning and then an hour for lunch. Today I packed a more filling lunch:

lunch1In the bento box:

bentoLeftover curried chickpeas and cauliflower with fresh rice and bell pepper strips for dipping into hummus.

hummusAnd a green salad:

saladWith a simple lemon vinaigrette:

dressingAnd strawberries for dessert:

strawberriesI also packed a granola bar for after lunch.

Lab was good today. We got finished in an hour, which was really nice. I had some time to relax before my workout today: weights and a 10-minute run on the treadmill because it was raining. I didn’t run much, but I did celebrate National Running Day!

After my workout, I took a shower and suddenly got very sleepy…I guess my late-night was coming back to haunt me. Dinner boosted my energy a bit:

dinner2Leftover Dal over rice:

dalAnd a blanched and salted green beans with half of an avocado:

green beans

 

dinner1Tonight I am hoping the Cardinals game doesn’t get post-poned. I have a chemistry quiz tomorrow so I might be looking over my notes a bit. Can’t believe Wednesday is almost over!

Leave a Reply

