Summer School

The first day of classes was a success! And also pretty tasty. Let’s rewind to 7 a.m.

I woke up at 7 and got up and made my lunch. I packed a bento today because on Mondays and Wednesday I have my lab in the afternoon. Packing my lunch took about 20 minutes and I had breakfast ready by 7:30.

breakfast1 Yogurt bowl for the first day:

yogurtI went with with a yogurt bowl because it’s quick and easy, with no cooking and little clean-up.

bowlCoffee to drink–hot today:

coffee

 

breakfast2My morning was right on schedule: I was able to make my lunch, eat breakfast, clean up, get ready and pack my bag all by 8:45. Luckily I won’t normally have to leave so early, because my class isn’t until 9:50.

This morning, however, I had a some things to get done. First on the list: pick up my parking pass. I didn’t get my pass in the garage I wanted but I got a nearby garage so it was ok. After I parked, I headed to the bookstore and picked up my lab notebook/manual and safety goggles. Then I headed to class with time to spare!

I’m really excited about this class. Everything is set up for me to do well: it’s the only class I have to worry about right now, my professor is a full-time high school chemistry teacher and is passionate about teaching, my TA is pretty cool, my lab partner is nice and tests and quizzes only make up 1/3 of my grade. Whoo!

Class is from 9:50-10:50 and I had an hour for lunch before my lab recitation. I camped out in Memorial Union with my bento box:

bento2Leftover pesto pasta with peas, which was perfect as a room-temperature salad:

pastaAnd a green bean, tomatos and mozzarella salad, dressed with olive oil and red wine vinegar:

saladI cooked the green beans this morning, so that was the only real prep I had to do on this bento besides chopping up the salad ingredients and transferring the pasta into my bento box.

bento1Wasn’t the most filling bento, but luckily I packed a granola bar for a snack. I ate half of it with lunch and ate the other half in between recitation and lab.

Recitation is an hour-long discussion with the TA about the lab we are doing that day. Today we went over basic lab procedures and did some problems out of the book, which was a little frustrating because we hadn’t covered the material in class yet.

After recitation, we have a 10-minute break and then go to lab for two hours. Today’s lab wasn’t a “real” lab, just sort of a “get-to-know-the-process” kind of thing.

When I got home from class, I gave myself about 30 minutes of chill time before heading out for a run. It was a little before 4 p.m. when I left, and, in my usual fashion, my late-afternoon run didn’t go so well.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 7.35.43 PMI ran to the trail, which involves a nice downhill during the first mile and a rough uphill on the way back. Ouch.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 7.36.21 PMNot to mention I was starving during my run, and my low-energy definitely affected me. An immediate snack was needed upon my return:

snackApple slices with peanut butter and cream cheese dip:

applesAnd Gatorade:

gatoradeAfter my snack and stretching, I took a quick shower and got to work on a delicious dinner: daal.

dal1This is a bowl of comfort if I’ve ever seen one. Daal (or dal, or dahl) is a traditional Indian lentil dish in which the red lentils (usually) are cooked with spices, onions and garlic. It’s a loose porridge-like dish and is usually served over rice.

dal2This particular recipe was finished with some quickly-sautéed onions that got sweet and caramelized  with some ginger and garam masala.

dal4I ladled the dal onto rice and spinach and topped with fresh cilantro.

dal3Comfort food at it’s best.

Tonight we are enjoying a good sports night: Heat-Pacers Game 7 and a Cardinals game. I’m going to do a little homework and get ready for class tomorrow.

One thought on “Summer School

  1. Pingback: A Love-Letter to Legumes: ‘Bean by Bean’ Review | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

