What I’m Training For: June 2013

Hello summer! My last race was on Memorial Day, and I succeeded in my goal of running a sub-24 minute 5K.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 1.48.21 PMThe race was tough. It was hot and the 5K distance is always a challenge mentally. But I pushed through and got my best race finish in a long time.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 1.48.37 PMIt even turned out better than I expected: I was first in my division!

me5So how do I follow that up? Well, I’m taking a down month. I know a lot of people race in the summer, but I think it’s too hot. I’d rather work on something I’ve always neglected: strength.

My plan for June is to build up my strength and maintain/increase my running fitness. I’m going to be strength-training 2-3 times per week, and I’ll mostly be using “The Core” strength program from Health on the Run.

What I like about The Core is it’s fast: I can be done in 20-30 minutes. I also like that I can customize my weights based on how I’m feeling on that day. I have used 5, 10 and even 15-pound weights at different points on this circuit, and I hope to continue to increase my weight as I go.

As for my running, I’m going to continue to run 4-5 times per week. I hope to do one long run on the weekends, anywhere from 5-8 miles at a time, 2-3 shorter runs of 2-4 miles and one speed workout per week. On most days I do my strength workout I’ll probably do a shorter run.

I’m pretty happy with this plan. It will allow me to be flexible with my workouts and plan for whatever I decide to train for come July/August. I’m thinking ahead…just not sure what’s coming up for me.

Leave a Reply

