Moving Day, Again

It was another moving day for me! I headed to the apartment in Columbia, where I’m staying during the summer while I take chemistry.

I was up early this morning because I wanted to be on the road before 9. Breakfast was simple:

breakfast1Berries, cereal and yogurt. Never gets old.

fruitAnd some iced coffee:

coffee

 

breakfast2After breakfast, I packed up the rest of my stuff and was on the road a little after 8:30. On the way to Columbia, I hit a bad patch of rain. It was the hardest rain I’ve ever seen! I couldn’t see anything in front of me, even with my brights on. It lasted for about 20 minutes. It was insane!

Luckily, when I got to Columbia the rain had passed, and I was able to unload my car and stay dry. It took me 8 trips up and down three flights of stairs, but I did it. Moving is exhausting.

So is unpacking:

beforeYou can’t even see most of it here. I spent most of the day unpacking in my room and in the kitchen. Allen had a half day from work, so he came home around 1 p.m. with bagels!

bagels1I was starving by this point. And overwhelmed by the mess of unpacking. I had a chocolate chip bagel with peanut butter and an everything bagel with salmon spread.

bagels2I got back to unpacking and finally finished around 3. Things were looking much better:

bedI also have this new bookshelf from Target. Allen put it together for me. He did quite a nice job:

bookshelfAfter unpacking, I took a shower because I had been sweating all day. I felt so much better once I was clean! I took a very short nap and then headed to the grocery store to stock up for the week.

Dinner tonight was super simple: pasta with pesto and peas:

pasta3I made a very simple pesto sauce in the food processor:

ingredientsOne thing I forgot about at the store was parmesan cheese, which is a regular ingredient in pesto. Luckily I had some nutritional yeast, which is often called “vegan cheese” because it has a cheesy, salty flavor. It worked great!

yeastI used walnuts for this pesto, and toasted them up very quickly:

walnutsIn the food processor, I blended the basil (I used one package plus a little bit more), walnuts, nutritional yeast and one big clove of garlic. Then I streamed in the olive oil to taste (I maybe used 1/4-1/3 cup).

pestoIt turned out great! I did all of this while I waited for the water to boil for the pasta, which I threw in and cooked to al dente. I drained it and put it back in the hot pot with some frozen peas, which defrosted from the heat of the pasta. Then I mixed the pesto in and it was done!

pasta2I used a whole-grain pasta, which helped bulk up the nutritional punch from this dish.

Served with a slice of delicious, fresh bread:

breadI picked this up at HyVee tonight, and it was STILL WARM when I put it in my cart. Perfection.

I had some mint green tea to drink:

tea

 

pasta1Tonight there isn’t much to do except follow the severe weather in St. Louis. The baseball game was cancelled, and my family is safe, but I am still worried! I hope everything is ok.

Leave a Reply

