In Transit

Today is my last day at home for a while (ok, not a long while…a week). I’m heading back to school tomorrow to get ready for my chemistry class, which starts on Monday. So it was another day of packing up, just two weeks after I packed up and moved out from my residence hall.

I was up around 7:15 and enjoyed a cup of Earl Grey Green before making breakfast. I kept it light because I wanted to run soon after:

breakfast1Multigrain Cheerios:

cerealAnd applesauce:

applesauceIced coffee on a very muggy morning:

coffee

breakfast2After breakfast I watched the Today Show while my mom was out running. I didn’t have my car because I was getting the oil changed, so I had to wait for her to get back from the park. I headed to the park a little after 9:30.

The weather was NOT favorable for running:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 8.17.34 PMTake a look at the humidity: 62 percent! I was so sweaty today.

I did the lake loop at the park which is 3.7 miles:

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 8.18.03 PMI’m trying to do my easy runs a little faster: somewhere between 9:00-9:45 min./miles. It’s not easy increasing my pace as the temperature also increases.

Screen Shot 2013-05-30 at 8.17.25 PMMy splits were pretty even, though, so I’m happy with that!

After my run, I needed some definite liquid replacement:

gatoradeHalf-strength Gatorade did the trick today. Some stretching and a shower followed, and then it was lunch time:

lunch1I baked a sweet potato at 375 for about 25 minutes. I should’ve drizzled it with olive oil but it did ok.

potatoesI dipped ’em in some peanut butter miso sauce:

peanut butterServed with some quickly blanched green beans:

green beansTopped with some leftover honey-cilantro dressing. So good.

And some fresh fruit. Gotta finish this stuff up tomorrow!

fruit

lunch2After lunch, I watched the National Spelling Bee semifinals for a little bit. I think it’s so exciting! I also picked up my car and did some packing.

I had a snack of toast with avocado before dinner:

avocado

Dinner tonight was really easy. Another recipe from the Quick-Fix Vegan cookbook. I would definitely recommend this book for anyone: vegans, vegetarians or carnivores. The recipes are great!

Tonight I made chipotle corn and quinoa with pinto beans. This recipe was super simple and cooked up in about 30 minutes!

dinner1I started by sweating some onions in a pan. Then you add garlic and the dry quinoa, which gets toasty. To that, I added vegetable broth, kidney beans (we had a can in the pantry), fresh corn and one chopped chipotle pepper.

quinoaIt cooked up in about 20 minutes, and then I finished it with scallions and cilantro. Tasty!

quinoa2Served with a spinach salad:

spinach

dinner2Tonight we are watching baseball (go Michael Wacha!), the Spelling Bee finals and some NBA basketball. It’s a good night! Tomorrow morning I’m packing up the rest of my stuff and heading back to Columbia!

Leave a Reply

