Lazy Days of Summer

Only a few more days here at home before I head back to Columbia to get settled before my summer class. Today I had a nice list of things I wanted to get done, and didn’t get to most of them…sounds like summer to me.

But I DID make oatmeal for breakfast, and it was tasty.

breakfast1Regular whipped banana oats with fresh strawberries and blueberries:

oatmealWarm and hearty, but still fresh and summery with the berries.

oatmeals2Iced coffee to drink:

coffee

breakfast2After breakfast, I relaxed a bit before finally getting started on my workout at 10 a.m. I started with strength and did The Core workout again! This time I did the whole thing one time through and the first three exercises a second time. I’m trying to do a little bit more every time.

I wanted to go run right after my strength, but it was raining, so I had lunch instead. A lot of leftovers:

lunch2Another Field Roast sausage:

sausageLeftover beet salad:

saladSome quick-pickles:

picklesAnd some miso soup, which I made my adding boiling water to some miso paste and scallions:

soup

lunch1After lunch, I ran over to Goodwill because I am looking for a cheap bookcase for my room at the apartment in Columbia, but I couldn’t find one. I also went to Walgreens for some nasal decongestant but they were totally out! Bummer.

When I got home I finally did go run, and it was hot and steamy! I was really sweaty when I got back.

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.20.29 PMI just did two miles, and I think it helps my legs after doing the strength training. Sure was hilly though!

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 8.20.38 PMAfter my run, I had a pretty tasty strawberry smoothie:

smoothieStraweberry, mint and vanilla smoothie. I used vanilla coconut milk ice cream in this smoothie. It was really yummy!

Dinner tonight was also really delicious! I tried another recipe from one of my new cookbooks, this time “tempeh with mellow mustard sauce.”

The sauce for this dish was really the showstopper. It started with a simple vegan gravy, which the cookbook calls “sienna sauce.” It was so simple but so flavorful: onions, garlic and carrots cook together and are thickened with flour. Then I added vegetable broth, tomato paste and soy sauce. I seasoned it with a bit more salt, and it was incredible:

siennaThis sauce tasted just as good as any gravy I’ve ever had. To this, the recipe called for some dijon mustard to create the “mellow mustard sauce.”

The tempeh was sliced thinly and cooked with onions and the sauce to perfection.

tempehI topped it with parsley, and it was perfection!

dinner1I served the tempeh on top of some brown rice, which soaked up the sauce quite well.

riceOn the side, I had a simple green bean salad with fennel, dressed with lemon juice, olive oil and salt and pepper:

salad2So simple, but so flavorful. Such a great dinner!

dinner2Tonight I’ve been watching baseball, and I’ll probably go to bed earlier tonight. Going shopping for some apartment stuff tomorrow, but not much else planned!

Leave a Reply

