Little Tastes, Big Tastes

Today was a day of lots of tastes! I had a wide variety of delicious eats today, starting bright-and-early.

I was up at 7 a.m. today, once again in preparation for my race tomorrow! I jumped in the shower first-thing and then threw together breakfast part 1:

breakfast2Another red-white-and-blue yogurt bowl:

yogurtWith plenty of strawberries and blueberries:

fruitAnd some iced coffee with a straw!

coffee

 

breakfast1I had another morning-meal date with Allen today. This time we went with his family to the City Coffeehouse and Creperie:

coffee2The morning was beautiful and we got to sit outside. I ordered a crepe called the Monte Carlo, which had strawberries, pecans and a caramel sauce:

crepe3It was delicious!

crepe4I also shared some of Allen’s crepe:

crepe1It was filled with strawberries and blueberries with creme fraiche:

crepe2After crepes, we killed a little time at the mall before picking up our race packets for tomorrow! Only my mom and I are running, but we were near the packet pick-up location so we stopped by.

Allen’s friend is getting married today, so he left for the wedding after dropping me off at home. My mom and I spent our afternoon at the Greek Fest for a little taste of Greece!

The festival is crazy-popular and the line for food was so long! But the food was tasty:

grape leavesDolmades, or grape leaves stuffed with beef and onions:

stuffedAnd a piece of spanakopita, which is a spinach and feta pie with phyllo dough:

spanakopitaI only ate about half of this.

I also tried a pastry called “galatobouriko” which was a phyllo pastry with custard–so tasty!

custardI had a few bites of this at home.

We got home just in time for the Cardinals game, which was really nice, especially because we won!

Dinner tonight was absolutely amazing! Portobello mushroom tacos and spring pea and spinach salad:

dinner1These tacos were out of this world. The recipe came from Quick-Fix Vegan, which is becoming another one of my favorite cookbooks. I started with two portobello mushroom caps:

shroomsIt looks like a mountain of mushrooms, but it cooks down quite nicely. They were flavored with two of these babies:

chipoltlesThe recipe also called for some smoked paprika, soy sauce and agave (I used maple syrup because we were out.)

The flavor of these tacos was so rich and meaty.

taco2And when topped with avocado, lettuce and tomato, the perfect balance of spicy and cool.

taco1I served these tacos with another salad from my Bean by Bean cookbook.

dinner2I mixed blanched snap peas with spinach, orange segments, scallions, mint and a citrus vinaigrette.

salad1So fresh. The best of spring.

salad2Today really was a day of decadent tastes, from crepes to fresh spring peas.

One thought on “Little Tastes, Big Tastes

  1. Pingback: A Love-Letter to Legumes: ‘Bean by Bean’ Review | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

