Friday Fun

Happy Friday! It’s been a very good day. Allen is home for the weekend!

This morning I got up at 7 a.m. because I want to get used to early mornings since I have my race on Monday and it’s a super early start.

I had a leisurely breakfast:

breakfast2I made a yogurt-and-fruit bowl. These are some of my favorite kinds of breakfasts. They’re fast and easy and you don’t have to keep them warm and they don’t get soggy quickly like regular cereal.

cerealI used Kashi 7-Grain Flakes with some beautifully ripe strawberries.

strawberriesAnd some iced coffee:

coffee

 

breakfast1After breakfast, I got a little work done and then got ready for my workout. I had a strength workout on the agenda today: Health on the Run’s The Core

This workout was kind of perfect. I’ve been looking for a good strength training workout I can do regularly without having to keep track of different muscle groups and all of that mess. The Core covers my whole body without me having to think about it!

I only did the workout one time through, and I used 10-pound weights, but I thought it was challenging. Next time I’ll probably try to do it twice through!

After the strength work, I did my regularly-scheduled two mile run. My last training run before my race!

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 8.00.13 PMIt was a nice run, but it was really hilly! I can’t run around my house without running up a lot of hills. But I was able to keep my pace even for most of my run.

Look at those hills!

Screen Shot 2013-05-24 at 8.00.38 PMAfter my run, it was stretching and running time. It was really sunny outside this afternoon but the weather was cool…50s and 60s.

lunch1I made a smoked trout salad with carrots, bell pepper, scallion, avocado, mayo and dijon mustard.

salad

Served with crackers:

crackersAnd peanut butter pretzels:

pretzelsAnd an under-ripe nectarine:

nectarine

 

lunch2After lunch, I took a shower and made some tiramisu! I have yet to try it, so there are no pictures, but the recipe was pretty simple. We’ll see!

Then Allen came home! We went to the park this afternoon and played some frisbee with the new frisbee he bought on Amazon. It’s a really nice frisbee and I am much better with it than I was with the crappy frisbee we used on my birthday. We also watched Jeopardy.

I had a cereal snack after Jeopardy while Allen and I played a little Yahtzee. I kicked his butt!

Dinner tonight was very simple: white bean bruschetta, fruit and cheese.

dinner2The bruschetta was very simple: a can of white beans:

beansFour very large tomatoes, garlic, basil, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

bruschetta2I served it with some french bread. Tasty!

bruschetta1I also mixed some sliced strawberries, banana and blueberries together:

fruitsI also cut up some fresh mozzarella and drizzled with olive oil:

motzThis was a great meal, enjoyed outside in the nice spring weather.

dinner1Tonight we are watching another late Cardinals game, trying some tiramisu and just hanging out. So glad it’s the weekend!

Leave a Reply

