Summer Sleeping

I’m starting to get away from my early morning routine already. Three late Cardinals games in a row and I’m sleeping until 8 instead of 7…which may not seem like a big deal but I wake up at 7 a.m. almost every day of the school year, so changing my routine is pretty impressive!

But I don’t want to sleep in too much, because I have my 5K race on Monday and it’s a super-early start: 7:30 a.m. I will probably have to get up at 5:30 to get there so I am going to try to go to bed early tonight and get up earlier throughout the weekend.

This morning I slept until 8, and then had a small breakfast because I had a hard workout on the agenda:

breakfast2Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon oat cereal:

cerealThis is a great cereal! The flavor is really yummy.

Applesauce:

applesauceAnd iced coffee:

coffee

 

breakfast1My morning was not productive, but I guess it was a good thing because Ryan had to stay after school to finish his last final, and I had to go pick him up. I did make a bento box for lunch and watched a lot of TV.

I finally got to the park around 11:30 to do my workout. It was my last speed workout before my race! Hooray!

The weather was cloudy, windy and a little chilly, AKA perfect for a hard workout.

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 7.50.33 PMSo for this workout, I decided to run three mile-long repeats, stopping to walk in between. It worked out really well, and I ran some great splits:
Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 7.50.01 PMOf course, I can’t measure this as a real 5K, but I ran an extra .1 just to see what my 5K time would be:

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 7.49.42 PM24:14…hmmm, that’s not too far away from my sub-23 5K goal. I think I’ve got a shot at a really good race this Monday. Whether or not I meet my goal, this workout today made me realize that I am ready to run hard.

After my run, I came home to eat the bento I made for myself. I wanted to try out my new bento box!

bento3This box is so pretty and simple. In the box, I had some brown rice with umeboshi plum:

riceAnd some strawberries for dessert:

strawberriesIn the other tier, I packed some tofu and broccoli.

bento2The tofu and broccoli were cooked according to a Just Bento recipe, and I got to use some fun new ingredients:

ingredientsFirst up was gochujang, which is a spicy red chili and soy bean condiment. It’s actually Korean, but it adds a lot of spiciness and flavor. I bought a mild version at my local Asian market because I had never worked with it before, and mine was not very spicy.

chili pasteI also picked up some miso paste, which I have worked with before, but you may not be familiar with. It is fermented soybean paste and is very salty. I love miso! It’s an extremely versatile ingredient and a great pantry staple:

misoMiso paste actually comes in a lot of different varieties, and I’m honestly not sure what kind of miso I bought, because there is very little English on the package.

tofuI also packed a piece of my tamagoyaki from yesterday and some blanched spinach:

egg

 

bento1I thought this bento turned out quite beautifully!

After lunch, I took a shower and went over to the library to pick up some books I had requested. I got to hang out there for a little bit before going to get my hair cut. When I got home, my dad was home from his business trip, which was exciting!

Dinner tonight was from my favorite Mexican restaurant:

dinnerBlack bean quesadilla:

quesadillaGuacamole and pico de gallo as toppings:

toppingsTonight there isn’t much on TV, so I’ll probably go to bed early. Tomorrow I have a lot of things I want to get done tomorrow!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Summer Sleeping

Leave a Reply

