Long Run Monday

Another successful summer day on the books here at home! I am loving life right now.

I was awoken much too early by my brother’s alarm in the bathroom…he apparently sets one while he’s in the shower but doesn’t listen to it. It was going off for a long time and I had to yell at him.

Luckily I managed to go back to sleep and woke up again at 7:45. Breakfast was simple because I had my long run planned:

breakfast1Cereal! Multigrain Cheerios with soy milk:

cerealAnd a nectarine:

nectarineAnd iced coffee to drink:

coffee

 

breakfast2It was pretty overcast in the morning, and I had planned to leave the house around 10 for my run. It started pouring down rain at about 9:30, though, and I got really nervous! Luckily it stopped pretty quickly. I guess we’re into summer rains now!

When I got to the park, the sun had come out, so I’m glad I wore sunscreen. It was quite the scene: the ground was still wet but the sun was warming everything up, and I could actually see water vapor coming off of the pavement in the parking lot and on the path. It was crazy humid!

I ran with a fuel belt with two little bottles: one with water and the other with an improvised sports drink of Trader Joe’s mango lemonade, water and a bit of salt. I ran a 3.5 mile loop and stopped at my car to swap out the almost-empty, warm drinks for two fresh ones from a small cooler I packed.

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 7.51.13 PMMy run was long, hot and sweaty, but based on my splits, I think it was a good one. I ran negative-trending splits and really felt strong at the end. But I also felt sore, and bought a bag of ice on my way home for a nice ice bath 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-05-20 at 7.51.44 PM9:50 min./miles is perfect for a long run average.

After my run, I headed home to stretch and had a snack of a tortilla and some chocolate milk to hold me over to lunch. I took a 5 min. ice bath and then showered and made lunch!

lunch2Lunch was a smoked trout salad, one of my favorites! It’s super simple to make:

salad2

  • Chop one carrot, a quarter of a bell pepper (I used red) and one scallion. Later on in the summer I will also add the kernels from one fresh ear of corn! 
  • Drain a can of Trader Joe’s smoked trout and mix it together with 1 tsp. dijon mustard, 2 tbsp. mayonaise of your choice and the veggies. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Stuff a pita pocket half with spinach or greens, then spoon in half of the salad mixture. Add some avocado pieces throughout the pita pocket if you like (I usually put a few at the bottom with the spinach and then add the fish and then put a little bit more avocado so I get some throughout.)
  • EAT!

salad1

lunch1During lunch I got to watch The Chew, which is one of my favorite daytime shows but I’m never able to watch it. After lunch, I ran a few errands: I picked up some stuff at a local Asian grocery and got some new soap from a natural foods store:

soap1Everyone says Dr. Bronner’s is the best green soap, so I wanted to try some! I got a bar of lavender soap to use in the shower:

soap3And a bottle of the liquid soap in almond scent:

soap2It smells amazing, and it’s really concentrated so I’m sure it will last a while. I’m not sure what I’m going to use it for other than handsoap at the apartment. I might try it for cleaning too! I used it for dishes tonight and it went pretty far.

After I got home I was a little hungry so I made a smoothie snack:

smoothieNot the prettiest, but it was tasty! Banana, frozen blueberries, spinach, soy milk and yogurt.

Dinner tonight was really really good. I started with this sauce as my inspiration:

sauceI decided to make some chicken for the sauce, so I cooked up one really big chicken breast for my mom and I (my dad is out of town for work this week).

And on the side, some really yummy veggies:

veggies1These were super simple. I just sauteed some green onions and ginger in some oil for a bit:

aromaticsAnd then added the veggies to cook. After a while, I added some mirin (sweeted sake) and soy sauce to make a nice, sweet, sticky sauce to coat the veggies. They came out awesome!

dinner1I served the chicken over rice-cooker brown rice. Couldn’t have been any easier.

chickenAnd the broccoli and pepper came out perfectly.

 

veggies2

 

dinner2Tonight I don’t have any plans other than watching some baseball. The Cardinals are on the west coast, so they don’t play until 9:10 tonight, Tuesday and Wednesday. Can’t believe I have two weeks at home! Feels like a lifetime.

One thought on “Long Run Monday

Leave a Reply

