The Greatest Day

It’s been too long since I’ve blogged, and I’m so glad to be back. I’d love to tell you all of the details of the end of my week and my weekend, but I’ll just sum it up with this: I had a hellish finals week followed by two extremely stressful days of closing our building. It was exhausting and emotionally taxing and often frustrating but I’ve been home since last night and summer has officially started.

So I’m moving on past finals and closing and onto summer, starting with today! I had the greatest first day of summer I could have asked for.

I was up around 7:30 because I’m still on my finals schedule, but it worked out because I had a morning run on the agenda. Breakfast was light:

breakfast2Cinnamon Puffins I found in the pantry:

cerealAnd some grapes that were just ok:

grapesAnd it’s officially iced coffee season! I brewed a Keurig cup double-strength (our machine does 4 oz of coffee) over ice and added some milk and sugar:

coffee

breakfast1After breakfast, I watched some of Meet the Press with my mom and then got ready for my run. It was really nice to be on my own schedule and to hang out with my mom!

I was so excited to go for a run today. During finals week, I had a bad run on Tuesday and did a shortened workout on Wednesday, and then didn’t run Thursday-Saturday. I think the fact that I was thrown off of my training schedule made my week even more stressful, so it was incredible to be able to run today.

I set off for a 5-mile run from my house to my grandma’s house. I knew there would be a lot of really hard hills, but I wanted to stop for water at her house.

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 7.23.56 PMThe run was VERY hilly, but I kept a very good pace. I ran 2.73 miles to my grandma’s, stopped and drank a bunch of water, and then ran the rest of the way back to my house, stopping to walk once I hit 5 miles and jogging it in.

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 7.24.03 PMMy pace was 10:05 min./miles, but according to THIS stat on my Garmin, I was actually under 10 min./miles for my moving time, which takes out the times I was stopped at stoplights and crosswalks.

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 7.25.24 PMAll-in-all, this run was really great. I was sweaty and tired and for the first time in a week, it was a satisfying feeling.

After my run, I stretched and showered and got ready to go to BRUNCH! Brunch is my favorite meal and I went out with my mom, grandma and ALLEN to celebrate his graduation and birthday.

allenAllen graduated on Friday and I got to watch him walk across the stage, but I didn’t get a chance to see him afterward because I had to get back to the building for closing. I was really sad that I didn’t get to congratulate him in person but I was very happy to see him again today!

We went to brunch at Bristol, a pretty upscale seafood restaurant. Everyone else had mimosas to drink but I had some iced white tea. They brought it to me hot while it was still steeping and then I poured it over ice:

teaTheir brunch is very tasty, and I had a little bit of everything:

brunch1Scrambled eggs and a yummy salad

LOTS of oysters on the half-shell:

oystersSo delicious. I also tried lobster mac and cheese:

mac and cheeseMy second plate:

brunch2I of course had to get lox, and I doctored up some bagels with cream cheese, capers and onion:

bagelsAnd of course, DESSERT:

dessertBread pudding with a rum anglaise and a doughnut with chocolate sauce!

It was a great meal! After brunch, we went home and vegged out on the couch and watched the Cardinals’ game. We won, topping off a pretty awesome day.

Allen had to go back to Columbia after the game because he starts his FULL TIME JOB TOMORROW! He’s been working part-time at the company but tomorrow is his first official day. I’m so proud of him!

I ran to the grocery store after the game and bought lots of delicious food! I am going to share it all with you tomorrow in a fun grocery-shopping post (hopefully you’ll think it’s as exciting as I do.)

Dinner was inspired by my grocery haul:

dinner2I made a mushroom-tomato sauce for some pasta and it was really tasty.

pasta1I’ll share the recipe later this week!

pasta2On the side, a salad dressed with my favorite “lemonade” dressing and some avocado:

saladTo drink I had some watered-down mango lemonade from Trader Joe’s.

lemonade

 

dinner1It was a tasty dinner! Tonight I’m going to do some laundry and catch up on TV I missed during the week. Tomorrow I am doing the long run I would have done today, and then that’s it! No plans! Just lots of cooking and relaxing. Happy summer šŸ™‚

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Greatest Day

  1. Wow! Lots of good stuff! Congratulations to Allen (I didn’t realize he was older than you). What was his major, and what does he get to do in his full-time job?
    I’ve been to Bristol’s brunch for special occasions — great selection of yummy things!
    ENJOY your summer! Ours starts at the end of this week šŸ™‚

    • Allen was a business major with an emphasis in marketing. And he’s working at an online advertising firm in Columbia, which means he’ll be there during the school year!

Leave a Reply

