A Finals Week Celebration

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, but I had a lot of work to get done. I had my flute jury yesterday morning and I spent the rest of the day studying for Comm Law and working on my religious studies paper. I had a bit of a freak out at night, but I managed to pull it all together and get my paper done.

This finals week may be the hardest one I’ve ever had, but I think I broke a big mental barrier today. Although I have three exams left this week, I had an exam today and a paper due and I feel a lot better about the rest of my week.

This morning I was up at 7 for breakfast. I wanted to get some studying done, so I tried not to dawdle too much. Breakfast was quick:

breakfast1Yogurt and strawberries:

strawberriesToast with chocolate coconut peanut butter:

toastAnd some coffee that I didn’t actually finish:

coffeeAfter breakfast, I studied for my Comm Law test and edited my religious studies paper. I was nervous about my test all morning, and was not feeling very good. Luckily I was also on-call from 9-11, which meant I had to do check-outs. It was a good distraction.

After my on-call, I went to lunch with Allen because today is his birthday! He is 22 years old today. We went to B&B Bagel for lunch.

bagelsI got a vegetarian sandwich on a sundried tomato bagel:

veggieAnd an everything bagel with salmon spread:

everythingAfter lunch Allen dropped me off on campus for my test. Allen helped me review during lunch and I think the test went really well. I was done in about 40 minutes.

I hit the library for some last-minute editing on my paper, and then I printed it and turned it in and felt SO MUCH BETTER. It was a big weight off my shoulders.

After I turned in my paper, I took a short nap and then got ready for my run, which did NOT go well. Here’s why:

1. I hadn’t been drinking much water throughout the day.

2. We ate lunch around 11, and I didn’t eat anything else all day until my 3:45 run.

3. It was the hottest day of the year so far, by a LOT.

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 7.34.45 PMThese three things in combination left me with little energy during my run. I ended up walking some of my third mile because I just wasn’t sure I could run it. I was even feeling a little lightheaded.

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 7.34.51 PMWhen I got back, I immediately ate a peanut butter and honey sandwich and had some Gatorade. I also had quite a bit of water. It really helped, and I was feeling a lot better.

For dinner tonight, Allen was very indecisive so we decided to pick up some things at the grocery store. I wanted to make some barbecue tempeh but they didn’t have any tempeh! I was so bummed. Instead I got these chicken sausages:
sausageThey were alright. I don’t think I heated it up quite enough.

I paired it with a pretty tasty homemade coleslaw:

slawI mixed cabbage, carrots, a golden delicious apple, golden raisins, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, mayonaise and salt and pepper together. It was pretty tasty but maybe could have used some more dressing. There were leftovers so I hope it will be even better as it sits.

sausage2

 

dinnerFor dessert, we had milkshakes and cupcakes!

cupcakeStrawberry cupcakes from HyVee. I thought they were pretty darn tasty.

And a chocolate chip milkshake made from the NINJA blender. It was just chocolate ice cream, chocolate chips, heavy cream and milk.

milkshake2I only had a small glass with my cupcake:

milkshake1It was a good day to spend with Allen on his 22nd birthday:

allenTomorrow morning I have a 7:30 a.m. exam for religious studies, but I feel pretty good about it. Hopefully it will go as well as today’s!

 

3 thoughts on “A Finals Week Celebration

  1. Pingback: The Greatest Day | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

