When it rains, I run

Today was a much better day than yesterday. I was able to turn it around from a potentially stress-filled day to a world-conquering attitude kind of day.

I was up early because I had chemistry. Breakfast was simple:

breakfast2Kashi Island Vanilla cereal

cerealAnd some applesauce:

applesauceAnd coffee

coffee

breakfast1I managed to get myself out the door and to class on time. Class was a bit stressful because it was a review session and we went over a lot of different concepts that I need to review. I left class feeling dazed and overwhelmed.

Luckily, I had a morning run planned. My band class didn’t start until 12:30 today so I had some extra time to get in a run after class. I took off right after 9 on a 40-minute tempo run.

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 7.54.56 PMRight after I started running, it started to rain. I ran in the some steady downpour for about 15 minutes before it stopped. Long enough for me to get soaked, of course, but it felt really really good. I needed to do something so very simple, like running in the rain, because everything else about this finals week is feeling so very complicated and scary.

My workout was pretty good. I got a side stitch but I worked through it. My timing looks like a pretty good tempo run:

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 7.55.16 PMStarted off slower, then sped up and slowed it down at the end. All of the stops were for stoplights and shoe-tying.

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 7.55.09 PMAfter my run, I had plenty of time to shower and get lunch with Allen before band. I had a poli sci review after band and then spent my afternoon studying and got to practice my flute.

I’m really glad I took the time to run in the rain today. It may be the only thing keeping me sane.

Leave a Reply

