Sundays are for long runs

Another long run on the books today! This run went really well.

I was up at 8 for breakfast. I went simple again: cereal and fruit.

breakfast1Honey nut cheerios today:

cerealAnd another juicy orange:

fruitAnd strawberries:

strawbsCoffee for mega long-run energy:

coffee

 

breakfast2After breakfast I lounged around a bit and made sure I was good to go without much rain. I got really lucky because I didn’t see any rain my whole run!

I found these cat photos on my SD card this morning so I thought I’d share them with you:

cat2Coco is pretty cool. And also still alive. I am always worried that he is going to get very sick when I leave and won’t be here when I get back. He’s old and diabetic.

cat1I finally set out for my run at 10:30. I had to run 6 miles today, but I miscalculated my route and ran an extra .56 of a mile!

Screen Shot 2013-05-05 at 1.40.40 PMMy goal for this run was to run each mile right at or under 10 minutes. I definitely achieved that goal! For fun, I decided to do a bit of a fartlek, which means I sped up and slowed down throughout the run. I let my music dictate my pace: I ran faster during fast songs and slower during slow songs. During mile 5 I decided I was going to finish strong and only listened to fast songs through the end!

Screen Shot 2013-05-05 at 1.40.48 PMAs you can see my pace was quite varied.

After my run I headed home and had a snack-and-stretch session:

snackChocolate soymilk and toast with avocado. Yum!

I wanted to eat something when I got home because I knew I’d be too hungry to wait for lunch to be ready. I tried another Oh She Glows recipe: Warm Spring Salad. It was delicious!

lunch1It was filled with delicious spring flavors: asparagus, peas, leeks and strawberries.

salad1And it was all tossed with quinoa and a lemon vinaigrette.

salad2It was a tasty lunch. This afternoon I am going to watch the baseball game and then head back to school. I’ve got quite the to-do list over these next two weeks, but if I can make it summer will be so sweet.

Leave a Reply

