Fast Running and Good Cooking

This weekend has already gone by so fast. I can’t believe it’s already Saturday night!

I was up just before 8 this morning to get my breakfast in before my run:

breakfast2The weather was not so great…grey and in the 40s, but at least it wasn’t raining.

I had cinnamon Puffins:

puffinsAnd some fruit. Unsweetened applesauce and strawberries:

strawberries

 

applesauceAnd some coffee for extra energy:

coffee

 

breakfast1After breakfast I hung out for a while before my mom and I headed to the park. She was only running three easy miles I had a “Fast 4-mile” run on my agenda, so I decided to run some mile repeats. I ran a half-mile warm-up and then did a fast mile, followed by a half-mile recovery, another fast mile, and a mile cool-down.

Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 8.28.27 PMMy first mile was in 8:05, which felt fast but I didn’t feel like I was going all-out. My goal was to hit my repeats 20-30 seconds slower than my 5K goal race pace, which had me shooting for 8:03-8:13.

Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 8.29.04 PMMy second mile was even faster! I was trying to keep myself from slowing down, and I knew I was more fatigued than my first repeat, but I guess I was pushing myself harder than I needed to. It does help me understand the feeling of my 5K goal pace (7:43 min./miles)

After my run, my mom and I went home and I stretched and showered. Lunch was simple:

lunch1Mint and mango smoothie! I actually had one of these last night after dinner too. 🙂

smoothie

eggsAnd some scrambled eggs with spinach and a little mozzarella cheese.

lunch2After lunch my mom and I went to Fleet Feet to get some running sunglasses! Here’s a picture of me in my super-cool new glasses:

sunglassesYeah, ok, maybe not so cool. But they will work this summer when it’s really bright! Also, here is an outtake. When I use my autofocus lens, my camera uses this light to shine on the subject of a photo before it takes it. It was blinding when I took off the glasses:

faceAfter Fleet Feet we went to the movies and saw “42” with Allen and some of his family. I thought the movie was just alright…of course the story of Jackie Robinson is inspiring, but I don’t think the movie did it justice. It was over-the-top and every scene seemed to be some sort of groundbreaking moment in American race relations. I definitely think the movie minimized racial tensions during the period, even within baseball.

I got home in time to watch the back half of the Cardinals game. I got hungry so I made myself a snack:

snackCheese and crackers and an particularly juicy orange. I was going to have hummus and crackers but the hummus in the fridge was way past its prime.

The Cardinals won in a pretty exciting game! We’ve won 5 in a row!

Dinner was an Ina Gartin recipe I’ve been wanting to try: Warm French Lentils

The secret to this recipe is in the flavoring of the lentils: an onion studded with cloves and a turnip are boiled while the lentils cook:

lentils1In the meantime, I sautéed some leeks and carrots:

leeksPET PEEVE: Recipes that say it will take 5 minutes to cook carrots. They take so much longer!

carrotsI then tossed the cooked and drained lentils with the carrots and leeks and a dressing of olive oil, red wine vinegar, dijon mustard and salt and pepper.

lentils2

dinner2I served this tasty lentil dish up with some salad and bread and butter:

lettuce

 

breadIt was a tasty dinner!

 

dinner1I’m not sure what we’re doing for the rest of the night. Maybe watching a movie? Maybe hockey. Not my favorite activity so we will see.

 

Leave a Reply

