My Healing Smoothie

Sometimes I have days when I just feel down: my head has a dull ache all day, my stomach feels off and I’m tired. Today was one of those days, and I needed to set myself right again.

Last night was a late night for me, and I didn’t sleep well. I had to get up at regular time, so I didn’t get to sleep as long as usual. That set me up for a rough day, and as the day went on I felt worse and worse.

So I made myself a smoothie that I’ve had once before, when I was feeling down, to try and make myself feel better. I’d say so far it’s working.

Healing Smoothie

smoothie1

Ingredients:

ingredients

  • 1 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1 big handful of spinach
  • 1 cup vanilla soymilk
  • 1 inch piece of fresh ginger
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • Ice cubes (if necessary)

The keys to this smoothie are the lemon, ginger and spinach. Ginger helps settle the stomach, lemon always picks me and the spinach gives me some nutrients I definitely need.

ingredients2Also, a hint about storing fresh ginger: when you buy it at the store, slice it into 1-inch pieces and freeze to keep it fresh and to easily access a serving whenever you need it! Having it pre-sliced makes it a lot easier, because it’s hard to cut off a piece from a frozen hunk of ginger.

gingerBlend all the ingredients together in the blender. Add ice if you want things a little colder.

smoothie2To supplement my smoothie, I made some scrambled eggs and brown rice, both comfort foods for me.

dinner1

rice and eggsI added some shredded mozzarella cheese and cayenne pepper to my eggs:

eggs

 

rice

 

dinner2I’m feeling better already.

One thought on “My Healing Smoothie

Leave a Reply

