5K Test Run

I’ve reached week 4 of Hal Higdon’s intermediate 5K training program, and today’s workout was a 5K test run. I had actually signed up for a 5K happening on campus, but it started at 10 a.m. and I had to be dressed nicely for the Res Life banquet at 12:10 so I was worried I wouldn’t have enough time.

Instead, I ran 3.1 miles on my own an hour earlier. I was up at 7 a.m. to eat breakfast:

breakfast1Toast!

toastAnd applesauce

applesauceAnd coffee to drink:

coffee

breakfast2I set out all of my running stuff last night to make my morning go more smoothly.

running stuffI actually only wore sunscreen on my face because it was overcast all morning. I had some extra time this morning to relax and read. It was really nice!

I headed out around 9 a.m. ready to roll!

prerunI wore a light jacket over my running clothes for my 10-minute easy warmup.

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 4.19.24 PMAnd then I stretched a bit, got some water, got my iPod and watch all set up and did some striders. Just like a real race except I was the only one at the starting line!

I set my watch to pace me because I’ve never used the pacing function and I wanted to see how it worked. I set it for 8 min./miles, not sure if I would be faster or slower than that.

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 4.19.14 PM

My 5K test went pretty well. I finished in 25:31, which is slower than I hoped but I’m still happy with it. Two things happened on the run that I think definitely slowed me down:

  • I had planned to run 1.6 miles out and 1.5 miles back in, but right at 1.5 miles I saw some deer right next to the trail up ahead! I’m a little scared of deer because back home in St. Louis, the deer are fearless and will get really close to you. So I sort of stopped for a bit trying to decided what to do before turning around. 

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 4.18.56 PMYou can see where my pace dropped to 9:30 min./miles around 12 minutes.

  • Since I didn’t turn around at 1.6 miles, I had to do an extra .1 miles somewhere, so I decided to turn around after 2 miles. I ran .1 miles in the other direction before doing a quick turn-around on a bridge. Unfortunately for me, the bridge was still wet from yesterday and I slipped and fell. At this point I stopped my watch (the long line on the pace chart) for about 20 seconds.

legLuckily my leg is just a little scratched up.

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 4.19.05 PMAll in all, I think I ran pretty well. I would have loved to run a faster 5K, but this is where I’m at right now, and I am going to be happy with that.

I plugged my finish time into a race pace predictor on Runner’s World and saw some pretty cool stuff:

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 10.19.57 AMMy 5K time predicts a faster 5 miles and 10K time than what I have previously run. My 5-mile race in January was 42:54 and my 10K in March was 54:18. Although this isn’t 100 percent accurate because there are lots of human factors that affect pace on a given race day, this shows me that I’m probably becoming more fit throughout my training.

I was pretty happy after my run:

postrunAnd I had plenty of time to get ready for the banquet. I even was able to read some more and have a snack:

snackI have a post coming about the banquet coming soon, and tonight I have a band concert and I’m meeting Allen for dinner!

Leave a Reply

