Six for Sunday

It’s Sunday evening, possibly my least favorite time of the week. Who wants to stare a full week in the face while remembering their wonderful weekend? Certainly not me.

This morning I had 6 miles on the agenda and I was determined to make it a good long run. Two weeks ago I ran a rough 5 miles but I avenged that run last weekend at home. So this weekend was my first long run taking on that painful route and I was ready to do my best!

I was up early at 6:45 on my own, but I managed to sleep for about another hour. Then I got up and had the same breakfast as yesterday: toast and applesauce.

After breakfast, I watched the Today Show and Meet the Press before getting ready for my run. I had a lot of things to coordinate:

  • Sunscreen: I’m trying to be better about wearing sunscreen when I run, especially as summer rolls around. 
  • Fuel: I didn’t need any food for this run because it was only 6 miles, but I like to have water for a run this long or longer, so I wore a fuel belt my parents lent me with one bottle of water and another of half-strength Gatorade:

fuelI decided to start this run from Allen’s apartment instead of the trailhead because the trail itself is only about 2.5 miles one way. From Allen’s apartment complex I can add an extra mile.

Ready to go!

me1I set out with good weather (a bit windy) and a good attitude! I kept my pace easy for four miles, going with my body and not with my watch.

I drank some water and Gatorade throughout my run, starting at mile 2 and taking a bit every mile after. I felt like it definitely helped me keep going because I wasn’t thinking about being thirsty!

Around the end of mile 4, I realized that my goal of “under an hour” wasn’t going to happen unless I picked it up. I decided it would be a fun challenge to see if I could beat the clock and finish in under an hour:

Screen Shot 2013-04-21 at 7.32.41 PMMy pace was comfortable enough during my first 4 miles that I felt like I could push it for the last two and not feel like I was pushing myself too hard. I just felt challenged and determined to reach my goal! The hardest part of this run was the last mile because it includes a pretty long uphill, but I tackled it with my favorite running song and came in under an hour!

Screen Shot 2013-04-21 at 7.36.47 PMAfter my run, I stretched and rehydrated. More half-strength Gatorade:

gatoradeI was really happy with my run today!

me2Lunch was leftovers from Friday night over some fresh brown rice, and a smoothie on the side:

lunch2Sweet and spicy tempeh…sooooo good. I’ll be making this recipe again for sure!

riceIn the smoothie, I had strawberries, peaches, mango, vanilla soymilk and orange juice:

smoothie

 

lunch1Tonight I am enjoying some baseball to finish off my weekend. I may do a bit of homework and get myself ready for the week ahead!

2 thoughts on “Six for Sunday

Leave a Reply

