On the Run

Today has been a surprisingly productive Saturday. I’ve gotten a lot done despite not feeling too busy.

I was up around 7:30 on my own this morning after a pretty good night’s sleep. I got up and watched the Today Show with my pre-run breakfast of toast with butter and applesauce.

I stalled on my run for a LONG time this morning. I had the luxury of time, so I got some good chemistry homework done while I waited for the temperature to warm up. I’m at a point during the year where I really refuse to run in pants. It’s SHORTS time.

Luckily it warmed up just enough for me to get away with running in shorts and a long-sleeved shirt.

Screen Shot 2013-04-20 at 8.32.27 PMI headed out just after 11 and somehow convinced Allen to go to the trail with me! He did a run/walk workout while I did a pretty good 4-mile run. I’m trying to convince him to run another 5K in June…we’ll see how it goes.

I was feeling really strong and managed to average about 9:25 min./miles. I know I said I’d try to run slower on my easy days but since I was feeling good I just went with it.

Screen Shot 2013-04-20 at 8.32.08 PMAfter my run, I did a quick stretch at the trail and then got bagels with Allen for lunch!

lunch1Egg and cheese on an everything bagel:

eggwichAnd a chocolate chip bagel with strawberry cream cheese:

chocolateCoffee to drink since I didn’t have any this morning:

coffee

bagels

After lunch I headed back to campus because I had some spring staff training at 2 p.m. It was preparation for next fall’s student staff members. Most of the information we went over was just review for the returning staffers.

At 5 p.m. I got to meet my new staff for next year, which was super exciting! It seems like a really great group, and I think we’re going to work well together.

After the meeting I headed back over to Allen’s apartment to make some dinner! Veggie fried rice:

dinner1Eggs for protein:

eggsBrown rice, frozen mixed veggies, scallions, garlic and soy sauce:

rice1On the side: banana, pineapple and orange smoothie!

blender

With vanilla soymilk and plain yogurt:

smoothie

 

dinner2Tonight the watched the Cardinals win (Yadi was the player of the game!) and we are contemplating getting frozen custard…I haven’t decided yet. Tomorrow is a long run with the fuel belt!

Leave a Reply

