Crossing the Weekend Finish Line

Thank goodness for the weekend! I know I’m feeling quite a bit better now that the standoff in Boston is over. It’s been a crazy week for news and I’ve been glued to the coverage.

Rewind to this morning, when I woke up at 7 a.m. and got filled in on everything I missed overnight, which was actually quite a lot. I called my dad and he caught me up to speed, and I kept the news on all morning waiting for an update. Savannah Guthrie was poised on the air for 7 straight hours!

Breakfast was tasty:

breakfast1Oranges have been SO GOOD lately. I’m a little obsessed.

orangesAnd toast with chocolate coconut peanut butter:

toastYum yum yum! And coffee to drink:

coffee

breakfast2After breakfast, I spent my morning watching the news and working a paper that was due at 5 p.m. I went to class and came back and finished my paper. Lunch was a peanut butter and banana sandwich.

Allen got off work at 5 so we met up at the grocery store because I had dinner plans from a new cookbook:

cookbookI have flipped through this book and I’ve found quite a few recipes I really want to try. Tonight I made “Sweet and Spicy Tempeh.”

tempehTempeh is a relatively new ingredient to me: I’ve known about it for a while but I’ve only cooked with it one other time. I really liked the flavor and texture, so I was excited to try a new method!

This recipe was super simple: first, steam the tempeh for 10-15 minutes to mellow the flavor. I didn’t have a steamer basket, so I improvised by placing a plate in a pan with some water (not quite to the plate):

steamerI brought the water to a simmer and placed the tempeh on the plate and covered it. Worked great!

veggiesI sautéed the tempeh for about 5 minutes and then added the green peppers:

tempeh2Then I added some garlic, crushed pineapple and scallions for about 30 seconds, and then added the sauce I had put together.

sauceThe sauce was a mixture of canned tomatoes, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, rice vinegar, orange juice, brown sugar and sriracha sauce.

sauce2I let the mixture sit just a little bit and then served it up on top of some fluffy brown rice:

dinner1This was really good! It was quite filling and just felt wholesome.

tempeh3I also had some steamed frozen broccoli on the side.

dinner4Tonight we are watching the news and just hanging out. Allen made me a pretty tasty smoothie that I’m about to start working on. Happy Friday!

One thought on “Crossing the Weekend Finish Line

  1. Pingback: Six for Sunday | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

