Thursday Things and Link Love

Today I thought I’d mix things up a bit and list out some interesting things about today. I think this would be much more interesting than photos of my breakfast because I ate the same thing today as I did yesterday. Sorry.

Anyways, here’s a nice list of interesting things:

  1. I finally buckled down and got some good studying in today! I had an assignment due for chemistry tomorrow that I’d been working on for two weeks and this week in particular I’ve been making little progress because I’ve been working distracted. Today I left my room, the TV and my laptop behind and went to do the assignment on a school computer to cut down on distractions. GUESS WHAT? It worked and I finished the second half of my assignment in a little over an hour. After spending two weeks on the first half. Yeah. 
  2. I got an email from my advisor about some neat communication courses being offered next semester. Since upper-level comm courses count as a humanity credit for me, I decided to drop the religious studies class I was signed up for and take this class instead: Health Communication. The course will look at how communication can affect psychological and physiological health. I’m really excited about this class because I think it will pair nicely with my science and health journalism interest area as well as my future pursuits in nutrition!

Link Love

I’ve been exposed to some really awesome media this week and I want to share some of it here! So here’s some link love:

Waking Up on the Wrong Side of the Ratings War: An excerpt from Brian Stelter’s upcoming book, “Top of the Morning: Inside the Cutthroat World of Morning TV.” It dives right into the issues at the Today Show in the past few years, specifically what happened with Ann Curry. As a Today Show devotee, I’ve been glued to his coverage of the morning TV wars and can’t wait for his book to come out!

On White Privilege and the Boston Marathon Bombing: I have pretty much been thinking all of these thoughts for the past few days, and this article explains it pretty well.

Why I Don’t Hate ‘Skinny’ Women: Because women shouldn’t hate other women.

I hope you enjoy some of those articles! Have a great Thursday evening!

Leave a Reply

