Indian Potato Salad

What’s so interesting about Indian flavors is that there are different cuisines all around the country. The flavors I associate with Indian food the most include coconut, lemongrass, turmeric (the main ingredient in curry powder, which is actually a British invention), garam masala, yogurt, mango and mint. These flavors can be found in cuisine all over the country in different combinations!

The last recipe from my Indian-inspired weekend is this Indian Potato Salad, highlighting three key flavors in Indian cuisine:

flavorsTangy plain yogurt, spicy-sweet mango-ginger chutney (found this one at Trader Joe’s but any mango chutney will do) and fresh mint. These three flavors played really well in my potato salad!

I started by covering a pot of chopped red potatoes with water and bringing it to a boil. I tested them with a fork, but I think it took about 10 minutes once the water was boiling. I estimated about two potatoes per person for my salad and I had leftovers.

taters

While the potatoes were cooking, I mixed together 2 tablespoons of chopped mint, 1/3 cup of the chutney and 1 cup of yogurt together in a bowl:

sauceFeel free to taste and adjust based on your preferences: more yogurt will make it more tangy, more chutney will add spice and mint will cool things off a bit.

I let my sauce sit in the fridge while my potatoes cooled. I chopped a bit of red onion to add some texture to the dish:

onion1My onion was really spicy, so I soaked it in ice water for about 15 minutes to cut some of the spice out.

onions2Once the potatoes had cooled, I mixed everything together!

tater saladThe result was a flavorful and unique potato salad:

potato salad

Leave a Reply

