Redo Run

If you recall my post from last Saturday, you’ll remember that I ran a HARD 5 miles after a few nights of bad sleep. This weekend I was determined to right the wrongs from my run last week and I feel like I was really successful!

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 3.20.09 PM

Problem #1: Breakfast

Last weekend, I had two pieces of toast with peanut butter, applesauce and coffee. It was around 500 calories and filled me UP. I waited about an hour and a half to digest but to no avail. I was sloshing around for 5 miles.

This morning, I had a significantly smaller breakfast:

breakfast1Honey Bunches of Oats! I haven’t had a bowl of these in forever and I had forgotten how yummy they are!

cerealThe best part was they didn’t get immediately soggy upon the addition of milk. It was excellent.

Served with a side of ruby-red berries:

berries

 

breakfast2After breakfast, I waited over two hours before I finally started my run. I also sipped on some water throughout the morning to keep myself hydrated.

Problem #2: Hydration

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 3.19.21 PM

Last week it was really hot when I did my run, so this wasn’t as much of an issue today, but I still wanted to test out a fuel belt because as it gets hotter and I run longer than 5 miles, I’ll need water on the run.

I used a traditional fuel belt with two mini water bottles. It was a little annoying in the beginning of my run, but I figured it out after a while. I can tell that although it is uncomfortable, having water on the run will be really invaluable for the summer.

Problem #3: Too much too soon

Last weekend my first mile was under 10 minutes, but that was the only one! They all got slower as I went. Today I listened to my body and felt strong enough throughout my entire run to hit negative splits each mile:

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 3.19.11 PMI was especially inspired during mile 4 when my FAVORITE running song came on: I Love It by Icona Pop. I always kick it up a notch when this song comes on!

I conquered all of the problems I had last weekend! Hooray!

I went to the park with my parents, which was a fun family affair. Lunch happened immediately upon arriving home:

lunch1Smoked trout salad! With lots of carrots, red bell pepper, green onion, dijon mustard and mayonaise.

fishServed with crackers for dipping:

crackersAnd green grapes!

grapes

 

lunch2Now I’m enjoying the baseball game for the afternoon. I’ve got several recipes to post soon, so look out for those! I’ll share one later tonight.

One thought on “Redo Run

  1. Pingback: Six for Sunday | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

