Taking Advantage

Happy Tuesday! It’s been a pretty good day for me and the rest of the week is looking good as well.

I woke up to some exciting news: my 2 p.m. poli sci class was cancelled! An hour and a half free on my busiest day of the week! Hooray!

I was up at 6:45 for chemistry and was quite sleepy. Breakfast was easy:

breakfast1Peanut butter toast again. So tasty.

toastAnd unsweetened applesauce makes its first appearance to the blog:

applesauceCoffee, which didn’t really help me wake up:

coffee

 

breakfast2Chemistry was good today. I’m trying to really work hard this test cycle and improve my grade. Chemistry is a tough subject for me and requires a lot more attention than my other classes.

After chemistry, I had some free time and relaxed a bit in my room. Then I ate lunch with Allen and headed to band.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with my free time today. Possible options: study, take a nap or run. Although I was really sleepy this morning, I decided if I was feeling pretty good I would go for a run.

 

I knew running today was a good idea and that I should take advantage of the opportunity. We are supposed to have storms all day tomorrow so I ended up moving my Wednesday workout to today. So after band I headed out to the trail for a 30 min. tempo run.

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 8.33.44 PMThese splits mean nothing because a tempo run isn’t so much about pace as it is about feeling. But I thought I’d throw them up here just for fun.

My plan for this run was to run 5 min. easy warm up, then pick it up for 5 min., run even faster for 10 min., slow a bit for 5 min. and cool down for the final 5 min.

I took some screen shots of my tempo paces at each phase of the run:

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 8.34.13 PMMy warm up was around 10:00 min./mile. Then I picked it up to between 9:00 min./mile to 8:35 min./mile for the next 5 minutes.

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 8.34.26 PMI kept at around this pace for the next 15 minutes, but I slowed and sped up throughout the run. This is why tempo runs are hard to measure on a watch! At 20 minutes I slowed to just above a 9:00 min./mile.

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 8.34.40 PMThen I finished around a 10:00 min./mile:

Screen Shot 2013-04-09 at 8.34.56 PMAfter my run, I went back to my room and stretched and snacked:

snackI showered and headed to a quick meeting and then had dinner with Kalen! After that I got some good chemistry homework done and and am enjoying some baseball on a relaxing night. Tomorrow I get to look forward to a rest day, and I am very happy about that!

Leave a Reply

