Running on Empty

This weekend has been ROUGH. Two bad nights of sleep in a row coupled with my workouts has left me drained.

I woke up at 8 this morning after a tumultuous night’s sleep. I forgot to take a picture of my breakfast (!!!) but I had two slices of wheat toast with peanut butter, a cup of unsweetened applesauce and coffee.

Turns out 1.5 hours was NOT enough time to digest this breakfast. I should have had only toast or only applesauce, not both. OOPPS.

I headed out for my run at 10 a.m. and it was sunny and HOT. I needed to run 5 miles, so I decided to start at Allen’s apartment complex because it is about a half a mile away from the trail head. The trail isn’t quite 2.5 miles long, so I couldn’t do an out-and-back without adding a little extra distance.

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 8.20.21 PM

My stomach was way too full for a 5-mile run in hotter temps than we’ve had recently. I was thirsty a mile in and my stomach slogged along the entire run. Not to mention I just didn’t have as much energy as I would’ve had if I’d slept well at all this weekend.

Although this run was within my long run time frame, I really struggled. I’m not really sure how I managed to be faster on my third mile, but it happened. I stopped a few times because my stomach was not cooperating.

My last mile was the worst of all. The trail is a little ways down a hill from Allen’s apartment..what I didn’t realize was that the hill down to the trail was going to be KILLER on the way up.

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 8.20.28 PMOUCH. That hurt so bad. All in all, I think if I had been well-rested and properly fueled/hydrated, this run would’ve been much better!

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 8.20.13 PM

When I was finally done, I had lots of water and did some stretching. Lunch was prepared by Allen!

lunch1He put together this post-run smoothie for me: peaches, strawberries, banana and vanilla yogurt. Hit the spot!

smoothieI also heated up my leftover sweet potatoes from last night:

tatersAfter my run I headed back to my room to get some work done. I got my bulletin boards up before crashing on my bed and enjoying some of the Cardinals game (which was AWESOME…we scored 14 runs.)

I had a bit of ravenous hunger this afternoon, so I had a snack:

snack1Laughing Cow cheese with crackers!

cheeseAnd an apple:

appleGatorade for hydration:

gatoradeAllen came up for dinner around 6 and then we tried to watch Once Upon a Time but it was NOT new 😦 Right now I am watching Chopped: All Stars and then we have a floor meeting and then BEDTIME. I am not going to run tomorrow because I need REST after two really hard runs.

2 thoughts on “Running on Empty

  1. Pingback: Redo Run | Expeditions of Elise

  2. Pingback: Six for Sunday | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

