Catch-up Weekend

Long-time, no food diary posts! I’m sure everyone has missed seeing a photo of my daily coffee-and-toast fix, so I’ve got you hooked up today.

Today I am catching up on sleep and tomorrow I am catching up on school.

Backing up to last night, I was on-call with Hillary. We passed the time by hanging with Kalen and watching 5 episodes of Gilmore Girls. Since our last round is at 1 a.m., I didn’t get into bed until at 2 a.m. and had to deal with a lock-out at 3 a.m., so I didn’t get any kind of quality sleep.

But I wanted to help maintain my sleep cycle as best as possible, so I got up at 9 a.m. and stayed up. I ate breakfast right away:

breakfast2A yummy plum:

plumsAnd toast with my Wild Friends espresso almond butter.

toastAnd coffee to keep me alive:

coffeeI have basically been dragging all day, but my plan was to get up at 9 and run in the morning and take a nap in the afternoon.

I headed out to run around 11, after momentarily thinking I had left my iPod shuffle charger in St. Louis and being really sad about having to run 5 miles on Sunday without it and then finding it at the bottom of my backpack.

I had 3 easy miles on the schedule for today, so that’s what I did:

Screen Shot 2013-04-06 at 8.16.09 PMI once again headed out too fast, as I always do, but I cooled off a bit for my second and third miles, maintaining a 9:36 pace.

After my run, I was feeling momentarily energized, which was nice but fleeting. I got in a shower and got ready and then headed over to pick up Allen for bagel lunch!

bagels1I almost fell asleep eating these. HOLY COW. Yawn.

chocolateChocolate chip with peanut butter

And a not-as-good-as-the-everything-bagels-they-sold-out-of asiago cheese bagel with salmon spread:

asiagoAfter bagel lunch, I came back to Allen’s apartment and took a 45 min. nap while he watched TV in the other room. Unfortunately my nap did more harm than good and I woke up groggy. I spent the next 7 innings of the Cardinals’ game on the couch trying to recover.

We went to the store to get grocery things and dinner things. For dinner I used some of my favorite miso-tahini sauce with some sweet taters:

dinner1Roasted in the oven for about 40 minutes:

taters1And served with tofu and this salad from the HyVee salad bar:

saladAnd the last of my rose lemonade from spring break. Sipping on it right now:

lemonade

 

dinner2Tonight I am going to watch some basketball and hopefully make it to SNL tonight because Melissa McCarthy is on! Tomorrow there are 5 miles on the schedule in the morning to avoid rain, and then lots of studying and bulletin board things. BUSY BUSY!

Leave a Reply

