New Teas!

For my birthday, I got a gift card to The Republic of Tea, a brand I had never really tried before. It’s sold at places like World Market and Whole Foods, but I’ve never bought any of it for some reason. But I discovered their website and did some browsing and asked for a gift card for my birthday so I could try some new teas!

First, let me just say their variety is amazing! There are so many different unique flavors. I had a hard time choosing what to order.

I ended up getting 4 different kinds of teas:

teas2I chose three green teas and one herbal tea. I’ve tried them all, and here are my thoughts:

cherryThe spring cherry green tea is really good! A great, buttery green with a light cherry flavor. I ordered the loose leaves, and I’ve noticed that the leaves don’t steep very well a second time (not as much cherry flavor) but other than that this tea is great. Tied for my favorite with:

kiwiKiwi pear green tea! This one reminds me of Teavana’s Pear Luna tea, which they discontinued. It has a really great light flavor, but you can definitely taste the flavors of the fruits. There’s enough sweetness from the pear that it doesn’t need any sweetening to bring out the flavor.

I also really love the pineapple ginger green tea:

pineappleThis tea is a little spicy and a little tropical, and it’s different from anything I’ve had before. Totally unique and I love that!

Finally, the herbal strawberry hibiscus is probably my least favorite of the 4 I ordered:

strawberryIt’s still pretty tasty, but doesn’t have that delicate flavor the other green teas have. It’s also sweeter.

Since this is my first time ordering The Republic of Tea, I compared it a bit to my other tea sources:

Pros:

  • Delicious, unique flavors I can’t get anywhere else
  • Lots of choices!
  • Interesting combinations of fruit, herb and spice flavors but the blends aren’t overwhelmed with too many flavors like Teavana teas often are.
  • SUPER fast shipping: my tea got here in two days despite paying the regular shipping fee
  • All of the teas come in awesome tins and they sell refills at a cheaper price.
  • The packaging is really beautiful!

Cons:

  • It is PRICEY. Most of the tins have 50 cups in them and cost between $10-11. Although this works out to $.20 per cup and my Earl Grey Green from Adagio is $.19 per cup (though I often resteep the leaves), you can’t buy Republic of Tea teas in smaller quantities.
  • Shipping is also expensive. The more you order, the more it costs to ship it to you, which isn’t usually the case online. I paid $5.99 in shipping to get my tea.
  • A lot of their bagged teas are not available in loose-leaf.

The verdict? I’ll probably order more tea from The Republic of Tea, or buy it at World Market or Whole Foods when I go to St. Louis to avoid shipping costs. There are still a lot more flavors I’d like to try!

3 thoughts on “New Teas!

  1. I love Republic of Tea’s Honey Ginseng Green Tea — you can taste the honey, but it still has a light flavor overall. I don’t know if they sell it loose leaf — I’m often lazy and drink bagged tea, although I prefer loose leaf as far as quality and versatility goes. I also like fruity teas, so I’ll have to try a couple of the ones you recommended!

  2. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

