What I’m Training for: April-May 2013

Well, I had a nice time training for and completing my first 10K. It was a lot different than any race I’d ever run before, and I feel like I ran a smart race, but I may not have left it all on the course. I was really worried about burning out, so instead of focusing on my watch, I focused on how I was feeling.

finish

But now it’s time to get back into racing. I’m going after my 5K goal time of a sub-24 min. finish and I’ve got 8 weeks to do it!

I’m going to be running the University City Memorial Day Run. My mom is signing up for the 10K but I’m itching to get back into faster races, so the 5K it is for me.

For my training, I’m using Hal Higdon’s intermediate 5K training plan. I have made one modification, and that’s running 3 miles on Mondays and resting on Tuesday. The original plan has the rest day on Monday, but I have a packed schedule on Tuesdays so it’s easier to run on Mondays.

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 5.21.01 PM

What I really like about this training plan is it includes specific speed workouts, and a lot of them, and it also has good distances on Sundays, ranging from 5-7 miles.

I feel like there are definitely some things I could have done better during my 10K training. Some of these things were affected by weather (i.e. cold and snow) but others were just me not taking it as seriously as I could have. It worked for me at the time, and I’m proud of my 10K finish time, but I want to set my sights higher!

My goals for this training are:

  1. Strength train 3 times per week. I’m not talking about anything TOO intense, but at least planks. I want to add in some other strength work I can do without weights. I plan to strength train Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays after my runs. 
  2. Do better speed work. I think using this Hal Higdon plan that already has intervals and speed workouts written in will really help with this. I also found a cool benchmark workout on Runner’s World that I’d like to try on some of my “fast” Saturdays: 3-4 mile repeats at race pace (7:43 min/miles for me!) with 3:30-4:00 min. recovery in between.
  3. Run EASY on easy days. This is another challenge I’ve set for myself. Mondays, Thursdays and some Saturdays are EASY days. I’ve been running most of my workouts at a 9:00 min./mile pace or faster, and they’ve been rough. The pace is doable for me, but it’s not EASY. I need to focus on doing speed work when it’s appropriate and going easy when I’m supposed to. I calculated my easy pace using the McMillan pace calculator (awesome tool!) and I’m going to try to hit between 9:42-10:38 min./miles for my easy runs, at least at the beginning. 

Today was my first training run, and I ran 3 EASY miles.

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 4.57.57 PMI haven’t run this slow in a long time, and it felt really nice. I started out too fast with my first mile 9:23, but I slowed for the second and third miles. My third mile was over 11 minutes, which is slower than I’d like. I’ll have to get used to this new pace!

I’m excited to get back to training and to get faster, stronger and better!

Leave a Reply

