Shopping Spree

It’s birthday week for me over here, so today was shopping day! As my birthday gift from my parents, I asked for a shopping trip for some cute spring clothes. So my mom and I headed to the mall early this morning and found some great stuff.

I was up at 7:30 and decided to have oatmeal for breakfast. Boy was THAT a good decision!

oatmeal2Whipped banana oats on the stove top, topped with buckwheat groats (a Whole Foods find) that added some awesome crunchy texture that I absolutely loved.

breakfast1I also topped the bowl with some crunchy peanut butter and raspberry jam. Such a good breakfast! I will likely recreate it tomorrow.

oatmealI also had some coffee to drink. Luckily we finally replaced the Keurig this afternoon so I can go back to my delicious flavored coffees!

coffee

breakfast2Oh, and in case anyone is wondering, Coco is doing MUCH better since his scary seizure on Monday. Here he is hanging out this morning:

catSuch a cool dude.

After breakfast we hit the mall and had a good two hours of solid shopping. I don’t have pictures, but I got several cute tops, a dress, a scarf and a pair of white cropped pants.

We had lunch at the mall and then came home. I changed clothes real quick and headed out the door for my first run since my race! The weather was really nice: 45 degrees and sunny. What wasn’t so nice was the HILLS:

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 8.00.11 PMUp and down and up and down…it was not fun. I decided to push myself to try to hit negative splits after my first mile was 9:17, and I almost did it:

Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 8.00.27 PMIf you notice above that the elevation during the last mile is almost entirely uphill, you can see what a challenge this really is. I pushed myself HARD on the last mile and I was happy with that.

After my run, I stretched and took a super quick shower and then ran to the tailor to bring my new white pants over. They are really cute and fit really well but they are a bit too long.

Tonight’s dinner was a recipe from Oh She Glows for black bean and butternut squash burritos. I didn’t really account for how much filling would fit in the tortillas I bought, though, so it was more like a tostada. Still delicious!

dinner2I had spinach, salad and avocado on mine. So yummy!

dinner1Tonight I am enjoying a rose lemonade on the couch with a new episode of Modern Family as well as a new Nashville! It’s been WEEKS! So excited. More birthday fun tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

