6.2 for Spring Break

I’ve officially completed a 10K! Now my spring break can officially start. Here’s the story:

I was up at 6 a.m. because the race started at 8:30 and it was a long drive. I knew for breakfast I wanted to keep things light, so I made a smoothie!

smoothieIn the blender: a big handful of spinach, a banana, a cup of vanilla soy milk, a tbsp of almond butter and ice. I didn’t blend it quite long enough and there were ice chucks!

We headed out a little after 7 when Allen came over. He drove us out to Imperial, Mo. which was about a 30 minute drive.

I had a few goals for this race:

  1. Run hard. 
  2. Earn a medal for my age group.
  3. Complete a 10K in under 50 minutes (not necessarily THIS time, but someday.)

The race was SMALL, and fewer than half of the participants were actually running the 10K. The rest were running a 5K. At that point I knew I could achieve two of my three goals.

The course was an out-and-back twice for the 10K participants, and it was really pretty! South County is really hilly and I thought it was really pretty.

hillsWe got there in time to do a little warming up and for a bathroom stop (a race-must!).

Mom and I before the race:

prerace

The race got going at 8:30. Here’s the field:

race1As you can see, SMALL! I started off really strong at the front of the pack.

start

I enjoyed some nice scenery along the way:

rock

 

barnI ran my first mile in 8:17, which was off from my sub-50 goal but it felt like a good pace so I didn’t try to speed it up too much. I didn’t want to burn out in pursuit of a lofty goal, so I changed my sights a bit and just focused on running my best race.

6.2 miles is HARD. When you run a 5K, you can take comfort in the fact that it’s all going to be over soon. Not so in a 10K! You have to consider how you’re going to feel after 4, 5 and 6 miles throughout the whole race.

I let my pace drop a bit to closer to 9 min/miles and I felt comfortable that it was a pace I could sustain for 6 miles.

me1Most of the race I was running by myself, and I didn’t get passed very often. That made me happy!

finishI finished really strong (and although my old cross-country coach Coach Kern will shake his head, my music DID help me.)

Here are my splits from my Garmin:

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 12.53.15 PMUnfortunately I forgot to stop my watch at the end of the race, so I’m not sure what my finish time was. The official results aren’t online yet (if they ever go online) but Allen snapped this photo right after I finished so I think I was close to this:

timeThe course had some good hills, which was challenging and also relieving when we got to go downhill:

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 12.54.25 PMAfter the race, we stuck around for awards, and just like I suspected, I finished first in my age group! Under 20! My last race as a 19-year-old.

medalAfter the awards we headed up north to IHOP to meet Dad and Ryan for some post-race pancakes.

My official race photographer:

allenI was ready for some pancakes!

ihopI ordered the whole-wheat pancakes with blueberries and a side of scrambled eggs.

pancakes

 

eggsAnd some coffee to warm me up!

coffeeNow I’m at home spending the rest of the day relaxing and enjoying some basketball. I’ll try to remember how I possibly ran 6 miles this morning!

six

3 thoughts on “6.2 for Spring Break

  1. Pingback: What I’m Training for: April-May 2013 | Expeditions of Elise

  2. Pingback: 5K Test Run | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

