Seven Miles Strong

It’s less than one week until my 10K and today was my last long run! BOY was it LONG. Seven miles is a long way to go. Let’s back it up a little bit:

I slept in until 8 because I knew I wasn’t going running until between 11 and noon. I had a leisurely morning and an easy breakfast:

breakfast2I had some things in my fridge that were low but not completely gone, so I tried to use them all up so I could restock today!

Strawberries used up with the last of my yogurt:

yogurtI also topped them with some coconut butter. Yum!

And cereal with the last of my vanilla soymilk:

cerealI also keep a small container of regular skim milk in my fridge but I used it all up yesterday, so I have to add some soy milk to my coffee. It was not the tastiest decision I’ve made!

coffee

breakfast1After much lazing around, I finally got out for my run. The weather was NOT beautiful: cloudy, windy and in the low 40s. But the temperature was good enough for me. I wasn’t hot or cold at any point during my run.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 8.42.59 PMI ran 2 miles from my car and back and stopped for some water and then ran another 3 miles. My pace was not fast, but I didn’t want it to be. I wanted to do my best to finish and feel good about it afterward.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 8.43.28 PMMy first 4 miles were all around the same time, 9:30, but my 5th and 6th miles were ROUGH. I was tired and had just stopped for water and my legs had tightened up. I also tried some different trails that ended up having a little more elevation than my regular route.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 8.43.40 PMAfter my run, I went straight to Allen’s to stretch and then we went to lunch! Normally I would have showered first, but I didn’t want to go back to my room, shower, and get ready all before eating. Food was calling!

I DID borrow a tee-shirt from Allen because I was SWEATY. I was surprised I sweated as much as I did considering the temperature was pretty low.

7miles7 miles! My longest run to date.

Lunch was, of course, bagels!

bagelsEverything with salmon spread:

salmonAnd a vegetarian sandwich on a sun-dried tomato bagel:

veggieAfter lunch and a quick grocery store stop, I went back to my room and showered. It felt good to be clean, but I was TIRED. I took a long, hard nap of about 90 minutes and it felt GOOD.

Dinner was another attempt to recreate my favorite rice and beans bowl from Crazy Bowls and Wraps. I think I did a better job this time! This was super close and very tasty.

I cooked some brown rice in my rice cooker:

riceAnd topped that with the beans. I cooked a small onion with some olive oil and garlic and then added canned rinsed black beans and warmed them through. Then I added about a 1/4 cup of this “stir-fry sauce:”

sauceIt tasted like a thick soy sauce with some spices, and was really close to the flavors I get from the beans and “garlic ginger sauce” I get at CB&W.

beansOn top of that was some beautiful avocado:

avocadoAnd a simple dressed salad: olive oil (a tad too much), rice vinegar and agave. And sesame seeds!

saladWhat a great dinner!

dinnerTonight Allen and I are going to watch The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I absolutely adored the book and can’t wait to see the movie! I hope it’s good.

Leave a Reply

