6 is a serious number

My title today is in honor of my 6 MILE RUN and my favorite St. Louis Cardinals tradition. If you’re not from St. Louis or don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this video. Also, only THREE WEEKS EXACTLY until the Cardinals’ first game of the season! 

Today has been a great day! Hard to believe it’s a Monday! It’s the little things that add up to make a day wonderful.

I started my morning at 7 a.m. and I woke to darkness. With the light in the evenings comes darkness in the mornings for a few weeks, which really doesn’t get me hoping out of bed.

But what DID get my hoping out of bed was the promise of an easy day and a good breakfast:

breakfast2A big bowl of beautiful fruit!

fruitStrawberries and kiwis were on sale at the store, so I decided to pick them up because I’m getting tired of bananas for breakfast. These were a tasty addition to my yogurt!

fruit2I also added a squirt of agave nectar to my yogurt bowl. These fruits were such a treat! I really should treat myself more often.

I picked up some more cereal too: Apple Cinnamon “Tasty-o’s”

cereal1They taste just like apple cinnamon cheerios and were great with vanilla soy milk.

Coffee to drink! The first time since last week. It hurt my throat a little bit.

coffee

 

breakfast1I waited all morning for the sun to come up, but unfortunately it didn’t:

outsideHow dreary! But I didn’t let it get my down. I am only two weeks out from spring break and just got back from a relaxing weekend at home, and I am riding the high.

I really wanted to get back on track with my training schedule, so I planned my lunch around that. I packed some easily-digestible stuff so I could get the best out of my run:

lunchA little more cereal and a peanut butter and banana sandwich. I had the cereal during my 11 a.m. class and the sandwich at noon.

I found out flute studio was cancelled tonight, which really opened up my whole day! I had plenty of time to run and get dinner PLUS I got to watch The Biggest Loser! It felt like a Friday.

After classes were over, I relaxed for a bit before gearing up for my run. On the schedule for today was 4 miles, but because I didn’t get to get my long run in this weekend, I bumped it up to 6 miles.

I went out around 3 p.m., and even though it was cold, the world seemed to be helping me get this run in. One of my favorite songs was on the radio on the way to the trail, and then the sun peaked out from behind the clouds for the first time all day! I was ready to GO.

My run was pretty good considering I just came back from a bad sickness. I ran 2 miles out and 2 miles back and stopped a few times to catch my breath and cough. After 4 miles I got some water and then ran another mile out and a mile back to total 6 miles!

Those last two miles were hard to get in, but I knew I was so close to my goal and I had to do it. Even with the breaks I took, I still feel great about my run!

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 8.02.14 PMI didn’t lose too much fitness this week! Hoping to build it back up this week and still feel great for my race next Saturday.

After my run I got ready for dinner with Hillary and Allen. On the way there we met Kalen who came to dinner too! It was a fun meal but the food wasn’t great, so I had some more to eat in my room:

tunaTuna salad sandwich

And some cinnamon Puffins with peanut butter:

cereal2Tonight I’m finishing up The Biggest Loser and just relaxing. Things are great!

Leave a Reply

