Headed to Spring

After what can only be described as the worst February weather ever, we are finally heading into what appears to be spring! The weather today was magnificent and I got a chance to get out in it!

I was up a little before 8 after a long, restful sleep. I think the past few nights of good sleep have helped me get better so much faster. I was a little stuffy and had some congestion in my chest, but nothing too bad. More importantly, I had energy!

Breakfast was a mix of things I can’t get at school:

breakfast1Eggs! I wish I could make eggs at school. I scrambled these with a little queso from the fridge:

eggsToast with avocado…my favorite:

toastAnd a tangerine:

tangerineServed with Earl Grey Green.

breakfast2I had breakfast early to give myself time to digest before going for a run! The morning was lazy and I loved it.

It was raining most of the morning but around 11 a.m. the sun finally came out and it started to warm up. Mom and I headed to the park for our runs.

We both had 6 miles on the schedule today, but I knew I wasn’t going for 6 today. My plan was to run EASY and just assess where I’m at with my sickness. My mom and I ran about 2 miles together before I decided to stop and walk for a little bit. I didn’t walk too long and I finished the 3.7-mile lake loop, running about 10:15 min/miles.

I’m not sure how I will feel tomorrow, but I’d really like to try to get my 6 miles in if possible. But I know that it’s best to listen to my body and not push it, or I may have to take even more time off!

After my run, I went back home and made some lunch. It was beautiful out, giving me my first chance to take some outdoor food photos in way too long.

lunch2Something cold and something hot! A beautiful green smoothie:

smoothie1In this guy was 1 cup of vanilla soymilk, 1 banana, 1.5 cups of ice, 2 cups of spinach, 1 tbsp. vanilla almond butter and a teaspoon each of flax and chia seeds.

smoothie2It was so good! Tasted mostly like banana and creamy. Yum!

Paired with last night’s dinner:

stewJust as good the second time around.

lunch1I hope you enjoyed these beautiful lunch photos. I can’t wait until I can take advantage of the sunlight!

After lunch I took a quick shower and got ready for the Mizzou basketball game. Unfortunately we lost (and I’m masking the fact that I am very angry about this.)

I had a little snack of some Trader Joe’s dips I found in the fridge. These were good!

dip1

 

tapenade

Dinner was some delicious tacos! I used this vegan fajita recipe from Oh She Glows and made some lentil-walnut filling for my tacos and they were tasty.

tacos2Besides the lentil filling, we had some peppers and onions, lettuce, cilantro and avocado! Plenty of it.

taco2See that “cilantro” there? My cold senses failed me and I accidentally grabbed parsley instead of cilantro for the tacos! I ate an entire taco with Italian parsley.

taco1Luckily my mom figured it out and saved me for my second taco.

Tonight we are watching college basketball and then later SNL with Justin Timberlake! I am very excited. He’s always so great.

Leave a Reply

