Operation Nutrient Replacement

I am on the road to recovery, folks. I’m two days fever-free and my energy levels are increasing. I’m at home this weekend and my plan is to spend the weekend recovering. I’ve got plans for intense nutrient replacement…lots of real food, veggies and CALORIES to make up for my feverish week. I’m also hoping to get some running in. We’ll see how that feels after tomorrow.

This morning I woke up to congestion in my nose and my chest. Despite all of this, I was well-rested from almost 9 hours of uninterrupted sleep! Hooray!

I took a shower first-thing, hoping it would loosen things up, but it didn’t really help. I was stuffy all morning. I wrote a short response paper and ate breakfast even though I wasn’t hungry because I’m convinced that I will get better faster if my body is properly fueled. So, breakfast it was:

breakfast1Overnight oats in a jar, prepared last night to speed up my morning.

oatsBasic recipe with berries, yogurt, soy milk, oats, chia, cinnamon and vanilla.

I wasn’t too hungry but I did eat this whole jar.

I headed to my 11 a.m. class after breakfast and started feeling poorly. I’m not sure what it was, but the walk to class really made me feel bad. I was sweaty, cold and a little dizzy. I managed to make it through class and then went to my noon class which was cancelled! It was a nice surprise. I headed back to my room to rest for a bit and make sure I was ok to drive.

I think my morning troubles were really caused by lack of proper eating, because while I was sitting in my room this afternoon I had some peanut butter and started to feel better right away. So I made myself a peanut butter and banana sandwich for lunch with a glass of soy milk and I felt MUCH better. I was ready to head home!

I had just enough energy to get myself home before crashing on the couch. I took a nap/rest for about an hour and then started Operation Nutrient Replacement with an afternoon snack:

snackTangerine! Fresh fruit!

tangerineAnd tea for my throat:

teaI hung out and watched Jeopardy this afternoon and it was really nice not to have anything to do this afternoon.   Only this lovely dinner to prepare:

dinner3I made this stew from Oh She Glows! It has tons of veggies and barley and is topped with avocado. Full disclosure, though, we used chicken stock because we forgot to buy veggie stock. So I guess it can’t be vegetarian/vegan as originally intended.

I topped this stew with avocado and it was incredible. So healing! So delicious!

dinner2Served with a side of toast.

dinner1After dinner I was still a little hungry and my throat was begging me for something cold, so I made a smoothie! A dessert smoothie:

chocolateIn the blender: two small bananas, those two squares of chocolate, some cocoa powder, 1 cup of vanilla soy milk, 1.5 cups of ice, 1/3 cup of oatmeal (for thickening) and a squirt of agave. Yummmmm.

smoothie2

 

smoothie1Not sure what’s going on tonight. I’m just hanging with the family until I fall asleep…yes, the perfect weekend awaits 🙂

Leave a Reply

