Slushy Day

Another snow day down, another school night ahead. It’s been a pretty good snow day all in all.

I was up early because even though everything else on campus was closed, my interview for a summer desk attendant position was still on at 9:30. I wanted to get a good breakfast in!

breakfast2I made oatmeal in my rice cooker! I wasn’t sure how this was going to go because my rice cooker doesn’t have a porridge setting, but it actually worked really well! I just used the “white rice” setting and it cooked perfectly.

In the mix: rolled oats, vanilla soymilk, chia seed, dried cherries, vanilla, cinnamon, a drizzle of agave and slivered almonds on top.

oatmealIt was a delicious, filling and comforting bowl of oats.

Coffee to drink:

coffee

 

breakfast1After breakfast I got all dressed up to go trek in the snow! We had a 9 a.m. staff meeting to assign snow shoveling duties and then I headed to my interview. It went well, and I snapped some snow photos on the way back. It was really pretty!

snow1

 

snow2

 

snow3

 

snow4As far as snow shoveling went, most of the snow was plowed early this morning by maintenance, so by the time my 11:15 shift rolled around, it was all slush. We threw salt down and called it good, giving us the rest of the day to relax.

I headed to the Rec around 2 p.m. and did a fast 3 mile workout. It went by super fast because I was watching an awesome episode of Katie Couric’s talk show. It was all about growing up as a transgender, and had stories of kids who have transitioned and their experiences. I highly suggest everyone watch this episode. The stories were so moving and there is lots to learn about!

After my run, I took a shower and had a pretty tasty snack:

snackYogurt with graham crackers and orange marmalade!

snack2And tea to warm me up from the cold shower:

teaLater on I had a great dinner at the dining hall complete with BREAD PUDDING! I got a little homework done tonight and now I’m going to finish my evening with Smash! Gearing up to get back into the swing of things tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

