Oscar Night In

Happy Oscars! I’m excited to watch the show tonight. I hope some of my favorites win.

This morning I was up in time to watch Meet the Press, which was nice. I enjoyed Steve Inskeep at the round table with breakfast:

breakfast1Toast with Justin’s vanilla almond butter. I was craving that sweet vanilla flavor!

toastServed with a banana. And coffee!

coffee

 

breakfast1After breakfast, I wasted a lot of time watching Say Yes to the Dress, but I finally headed out for my run around 1. I had an apple to tide over my hunger:

appleOn the training plan today was a 40-45 minute run, so I set out on campus because the sidewalks are nice and clear! Unfortunately there is much to much snow on the trails, so I did a few loops around campus.

I’m really getting faster, because I’m finding my “easy” pace is closer to a 9:00 min/mile! This is fun for me, but it makes running for time difficult because I know I am running longer than just 4 miles to hit my time. It was particularly hard on campus because it’s only about a mile across in any direction. I had to do a lot of loops.

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 6.35.37 PMMy splits were pretty close to each other! I am surprised that I was running faster on my last mile. I guess I thought I was just getting tired because it was getting harder, but I was actually running faster!

Campus is hillier than the flat trail I usually run on:

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 6.35.47 PMSome definite elevation changes happening!

After my run, I came back to my room to stretch and shower. The hot water is sort of back, which was a nice change from the freezing cold conditions of yesterday.

Then I made a “lunch” of sorts: oatmeal!

oats2I made regular whipped banana oats mixed with some frozen peaches and topped with Whole Foods PB and Biscoff spread! It was tasty but I couldn’t finish it all. Too much volume!

I took a quiz for religious studies before Allen came up to campus for dinner. He was on a mission to find a snow shovel but couldn’t find one anywhere! We are supposed to get more snow tomorrow night/Tuesday morning. 

He brought some chocolate with him!

chocolateMmmmm. I had one as an appetizer to dinner.

Tonight I am on-call and watching the Oscars! It should be pretty good night. In case you’re wondering, here are my picks for the big awards:

Who I want to win:

Best Picture: Silver Linings Playbook

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway

Best Supporting Actor: Robert De Niro

Who will win:

Best Picture: Argo

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway

Best Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones

What do you guys think? Who do you want to win? Who do you think will win? 

2 thoughts on “Oscar Night In

  1. I agree completely with your picks & predictions, except that I want Tommy Lee Jones to win. But I’d take Robert De Nero as a second place pick. And I’d say that Lincoln & SLPB are tied in my personal race for Best Picture. But then again, I’m still torn up about The Social Network losing three years ago…

Leave a Reply

