Staying In

It’s been a very relaxing Saturday! I didn’t have any homework to do and the snow has kept me bound indoors.

I was up around 8, but I wasn’t sure if I wanted to run today. I knew outside was pretty much out of the question with 11 inches of snow on the ground and poor clean up in Columbia, but I had to run 4.5 miles and really didn’t want to do it on the treadmill.

My mom convinced me to do my run on the treadmill, so I ate a quick breakfast of peanut butter toast and headed to the Rec right when it opened at 10 a.m.

The Rec was pretty busy for 10 a.m. on a Saturday, but luckily most of the patrons wanted to use the¬†ellipticals, so I didn’t feel bad for using my treadmill for longer than the allotted 30 minutes. I watched Barefoot Contessa and Giada at Home, alternating between 10:00 min/miles, 9:05 min/miles and a little time at 8:20 min/miles when I was getting sick of running indoors and wanted it to be over.

I struggled through my run and headed back to my room to stretch. Treadmills make my legs HURT. Sore knees and tight hips. After a good stretch, I took a FREEZING COLD shower. There is no hot water in our building right now. It is terrible and needs to be fixed ASAP or I will lose it.

I picked up Allen after drying my hair and we headed out for bagels! I went back to my traditional order:

bagels1Everything bagel with salmon cream cheese…so good.

bagel2And a new twist of my favorite vegetarian sandwich: a sun-dried tomato bagel! Hillary suggested it and I’m glad I got it because it was tasty.

bagel1

 

bagels1Allen and I hung out all afternoon, watching TV, napping and just generally lazing around. Around 7 I threw together this simple dinner:

dinner2

Baked sweet potato:

sweet potatoTopped with canned baked beans!

dinner1And that was that. It was very filling and I didn’t finish it all. I was still hungry from out late bagel lunch!

We also made smoothies! Mine is in the fridge because I was seriously not hungry.

smoothieThe mix is delicious though: Very Vanilla Silk soymilk, frozen strawberries and pineapple, kiwi and plain yogurt. Perfectly sweet!

smoothies2Smoothies for two.

I sure will drink this smoothie later! Tonight we are watching Mizzou play Kentucky. Things are good so far!

One thought on “Staying In

Leave a Reply

